Deep-Fried Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great onion rings. Exactly the style I was looking for! As recommended, I dusted the onions with floor before the batter and it coated them perfectly. The batter is a little bland but I’m cooking for kids and spicy doesn’t fly so I dusted mine with Cajun seasoning after cooking. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Tried this today using 100% whole wheat flour (all we had in house) and boy was this ever delicious! Everybody LOVED them! Thank you so much, Elle! Fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Loved it. Followed suggestions about using salad spinner to remove water, flour to dredge before batter and OldBay in the batter. Next time will season it even more. Also to get more onion taste, plan to keep onion thicker by not separating the rings as much. Simple recipe to follow. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
What's not to like!! Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I love onion rings and these did not disappoint. I dusted the rings with flour first as one viewer suggested, and used lactose free milk with some lemon juice in it to make buttermilk. I also put them through the lettuce spinner as was suggested. These are excellent, thank you Ellie_NO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Excellent! I did end up using 2 large yellow onions instead of Bermudas, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I did find that the recipe barely was enough for my 2 onions using 1/2 inch slices, but perhaps that was because of the size of them. I did use a deep fat fryer rather than a pan on the stove. On the first batch I used the wire basket that came with my fryer. Big mistake. The batter oozed through the basket and made a large onion clump that wouldn't come out. After that, I made small batches directly in the fryer and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These are really good if you like a really puffy batter, which we do. Make sure that your oil is at at least 350 and do these in batches. They hold well in a low oven while you finish the rest. I knocked these down one star because they really need to be dusted with flour prior to going into the batter, so the batter will stick and the batter needs a little more seasoning - maybe a little cayenne. I sliced the onions and let soak in cold water as directed, in a salad spinner - drained and spun dry, which worked great. Very nice recipe that I would use again and again with just a few simple changes. Thanks Elle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States