Deep Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
First time I made these we didn't like the batter- too mushy. So the next time we dipped the mushrooms in beat egg and the rolled them in italian breadcrumbs (already has garlic and spices added in). They turned out wonderful- crunchy and tasty. Dipped in Hidden Valley Ranch Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Followed directions as written. Flavor was good but the batter never got crispy. It was more like a pancake-wrapped mushroom. I like a crunchy outer. I also missed the beer flavor so next time I'll look for a beer batter for my shrooms. Dh liked them as well but wished they were more crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Be

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
We loved, Loved, LOVED these. This is a favorite of ours when we go out to restaurants and I really am glad that I "finally" found a recipe that is what we order out. Definate keeper. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I have made these twice now. The only people in the house who don't like them are the ones who don't like mushrooms! I added a little extra garlic salt. The only draw back was that I had to fry them for a long time to make them crisp enough. But towards the end of the batch they went faster, I guess because the oil got hotter and hotter. I loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I had no problems with this recipe, I was worried they would come out mushy, but mine came out just fine. I, of course cooked them with my deep fryer at 350, for about 4 minutes. Will def use this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Good, but does need more spice. Also used a deep fryer and fried until brown and crisp. Here is a dip I made: 1/4 cup mayo, 1 tblsp each lemon juice, horseradish, milk to desired consistency. Similar to dips we have tasted served with this dish. Will make this again with some cayenne and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cierra
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Followed recipes directions, and the end result was good. They were good for home cooked fried mushrooms. I had to add a bit of salt and garlic powder on top for more flavor though. Not bad. I'm going to continue to fool around with ideas on this one ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
These got really soggy by the time they drained and cooled down enough to eat. I added salt and cayenne to the batter but they still were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
loved it... just like the resturant cotton patch who got me hooked on them!! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CourtneyC
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very good recipe. I agree w/ alot of the other reviews, the mushrooms needed to be a tad bit crispier, so I added italian bread crumbs in with the flour. Made them taste AWESOME! Will definitely be making them again. Too easy and too tasty not to! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CourtneyC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States