Deep Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe! I tried this today. Both my boyfriend and I enjoyed it very much! Thank you for sharing! It really brings out the mushroom flavor. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is that it doesn't come out crispy. I added a bit more salt, too, because I'm a salt fiend. Overall, a wonderful taste. I don't want to change the recipe to get the crisp into the batter for fear of changing the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Reynolds (Chassit)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dupo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used beer in the batter, didn't try original version sorry so don't know how it compares. Used 1/2 cup beer and 1/2 cup water, might try all beer next time. Used fresh garlic and you could taste the garlic quite a bit. Will definately try again...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
First off I don't think I did it right, but aside from that, it was definitely not the fried mushroom I was going for. Maybe I would have done better in a real deep fryer instead of just a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I had no problems with this recipe, I was worried they would come out mushy, but mine came out just fine. I, of course cooked them with my deep fryer at 350, for about 4 minutes. Will def use this recipe again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
i will not make these again.. when they first come out they are crunchy but way to hot to eat and by the time they are cooled down enough the batter turned to mush..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I'd recommend to half or lae mushrooms whole. And maybe I'd add a bit more garlic salt. Overall, I had a successful meal with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Perfect when deep fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is a very good recipe, although I did double up on the garlic salt and added some onion salt. Once I did this, the mushrooms were delicious. I used a Presto deep fryer and they turned out nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheldon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This recipe was very bland and very cake like instead of light and crisp. I added hot sauce to the batter to add a kick, which really added flavor. I also only used the egg whites to make it not so cakey. Also like other people suggested I did add italian breadcrumbs which was a great suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Added italian breadcrumbs and used pre-sliced mushrooms. Fried in peanut oil. Couldn't keep them on the plate. I am the only one who likes mushrooms in my household, so I thought. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States