Deep Fried French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I wanted my egg "wash" to be a little thicker so I cut the milk back to a cup and a half. That makes it 1/4 cup per egg. I also added two teaspoons of vanilla and a good amount ground cinnamon--that's what I add to all of my french toast recipes. This is seriously like french toast on crack. I used my cast iron skillet to deep fry these and it worked out fabulously. I served these with hot maple syrup. The family thought this was THE BEST french toast they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I had never heard of this before. Being from the south and loving everything from a fried variety- I had to try it. It is DELICIOUS!!! A great crispy outside with a nice french toast-soft inside. I sprinkle with a little powdered sugar and throw on some syrup and its just DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This is one of the most awesomely fantasmagorical things I have ever made. I added 2 tsps of vanilla b/c I just can't imagine french toast without it, but other than that, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janebabes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This was very good, but had to sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top, then maple syrup to taste better. I may try this again, with the powdered sugar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I did not have any french bread so just used regular sliced white bread- it worked fine! This was fun to make, served with powdered sugar and maple syrup it was heavy for breakfast but I can see myself making it again for a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Added one tsp of vanilla and a pinch or two of cinnamon and nutmeg. No left overs :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Yum! Not the healthiest, but good for a special occasion. My brother LOVED them. I just added a little leavening (baking powder) so they would be fluffier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Wanted to try something new and this was it loved it and so did my son who is a picky eater!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Stokes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookieMomster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I love crunchy french toast. This is so much better than the traditonal way to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States