Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I added a few modifications (seasoned up the flour with adobo, black pepper & paprika), so I can't TRULY rate the original, BUT these were a huge hit, so thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I had this at a friend's house on Sunday and then made it for my family last night. What a HUGE hit! The breading stuck (which is always an issue for me) and we are going to adapt it with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Tastes Great. Awesome Recipe. Have made this numerous times and everyone loves it. I'd recommend using Kosher Hamburger Dill Chips and they seem to come out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I've been making fried pickles for many years. I love that they are now offered at many restaurants as appetizers. I could only give this recipe 3 stars because I didn't like the cornmeal at all! The recipe I used to use and will go back to again, uses a simple onion ring batter and sliced pickles. They are delicious and you really don't need a dip for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
these are also great dipped in some whipped cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Finally! There is a local pub nearby that serves these and I have been trying to duplicate the recipe. This is spot on! I've made it both with spears and slices. I like to dip these in a little wasabi ranch sauce for a kick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I'm not one for giving bad reviews, but this one did not impress us. We really didn't like the cornmeal in the batter, the cornmeal was like sand in the batter, just little hard crunchy pieces. I did not use the hot sauce, and used chili powder in place of cayenne, and honestly couldn't taste the seasonings at all. I think with the seasonings being in the egg/milk mix that very little of the seasonings attaches to the pickle. We were trying to re-create a recipe from a restaurant and this was not it. We will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosegreetings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
this recipe is the first one I've seen on the net that includes cornmeal and flour in the mixture. This is how it was done down in the Gulfport, Ms area. The breading sticks better and the flavor is amazing, even after they've cooled. The "just flour" fried dill pickles...not so good cold. I give this recipe an A+. But the picture is not so great.Traditionally you fried pickle slices,not spears. I've had a fried pickle spear and it's nothing like the slices. Cornmeal and slices!!!!lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I combine all the dry ingredients in one bowl instead of adding the spices to the liquids. I also double batter and dip these. We use our favorite pickle spears, and use "Southwest Dipping Sauce" from this site....which is plenty spicy, so I often leave the cayenne and hot sauce out of the pickle recipe b/c I feel it's not key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Very tasty. I double battered as suggested, batter-flour-batter-flour, then placed on parchment paper and oven-fried at about 375 for 12 minutes on each side, spraying each side with Pam. Very crispy, easy cleanup, and minimal guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States