Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wonderful! Didn't have cornmeal on hand so I did half all-purpose flour, half corn flour. Absolutely no complaints : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Hubs and I make a point to get our deep fried dill pickles every time we’re in Memphis and visit our favorite restaurant/club there. Taking the lead from how they do theirs, I sliced dill pickles myself so that I could get them super thin. Also, I left out the cayenne pepper and hot sauce (Hubs appreciated that) and just added ground black pepper to taste. This is a nice, light batter, nicely seasoned, and using dill pickle slices that are just a little thinner worked out well. Just as our favorite Memphis restaurant does, we served this with a horseradish dipping sauce – I used “Horseradish Dipping Sauce,” recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Easy-peasy! My 10 year old says, "sooooo yummy!" He had never had fried pickles before & he was definitely nervous trying them for the first time. He loved them! I couldn't stop him from eating them!! He says, "They are the best pickles I've ever tasted & probably ever will!" Though it wasn't the batter I was looking for... they were still very good! I've made them several times over the last week & each time they were quickly eaten up, with none left behind! Thanks for the quick, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Absolutely the best fried pickles I have ever had! My family wanted me to make another batch! We will so make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Awesome! I suggest NOT altering the authors recipe the first time. They will be loved by all. Love dipping in ranch dressing; have altered a few times for a change of pace, but no need to do so. Not any better than the orginal version. Jalapeno strips sound great with this. Another time sprinkled w/ ranch powder, used milk w/ lemon juice to make alt buttermilk, we buy whole pickles and cut some thick and some thin. Again, no reason to do any of it, was just a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYSCRAPPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I agree that pickle slices get a bit soggy. I found a hotter heat helps a bit, but the pickle spears did work the best. To give this an honest review I measured all the ingredients exactly and give this 5 stars. These are just wonderful and the whole family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Boyd Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This recipe is awesome and tasted even better that the ones in the resteraunts. However, I have learned a quick lesson..that just because someone has A LOT of likes on their review DOESN'T mean it will work for you. When I try this again I will stick to what is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
never tried fried pickles before and found this recipe very good and easy to make!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seamus82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I agree with everyone who says that the pickles shouldn't be cut into oval slices but rather spears. I just wish that the breading crisped up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These were very good! I left out the cornmeal, but will probably include it next time. My breading wasn't very thick. : /
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacia2242

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States