Deep Fried Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I read some of the comments and decided to try what someone had suggested by combining it all (minus the cornmeal) and using spears instead of chips. It turned out wonderfully, but not as crispy as the pics made it seem. If that doesn't matter to you, go for it, even my mom who openly thinks the whole 'fried pickle' idea is disgusting liked it. We also made fried zucchini (chips or spears work) with this batter, which turned out awesome. Ate it all with a home made rendition of thousand island like someone suggested. Couldn't eat enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destyni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
this is a great variation of a deep fried dill pickle, for a crunch use panko crumbs! thanks for the reciipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Pickle spears NEVER!! Only chips will do!! The trick is to rinse the pickles first or they are very salty. The only way they become oily is if your oil is not hot enough when you fry them. This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melea
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Loved these! I eyeballed the measurements, left out eggs and cornmeal, used 2% milk instead of buttermilk and they came out amazing!! Never made them before and couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Super yummy! My local restaurant makes these and I love them. I just wish I had their spicy mayo sauce so I could do that at home too! Oh, and don't rate a recipe poorly because you don't THINK it will be good ... good grief people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ariemay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Enjoyed it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wonderful! Didn't have cornmeal on hand so I did half all-purpose flour, half corn flour. Absolutely no complaints : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Hubs and I make a point to get our deep fried dill pickles every time we’re in Memphis and visit our favorite restaurant/club there. Taking the lead from how they do theirs, I sliced dill pickles myself so that I could get them super thin. Also, I left out the cayenne pepper and hot sauce (Hubs appreciated that) and just added ground black pepper to taste. This is a nice, light batter, nicely seasoned, and using dill pickle slices that are just a little thinner worked out well. Just as our favorite Memphis restaurant does, we served this with a horseradish dipping sauce – I used “Horseradish Dipping Sauce,” recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Easy-peasy! My 10 year old says, "sooooo yummy!" He had never had fried pickles before & he was definitely nervous trying them for the first time. He loved them! I couldn't stop him from eating them!! He says, "They are the best pickles I've ever tasted & probably ever will!" Though it wasn't the batter I was looking for... they were still very good! I've made them several times over the last week & each time they were quickly eaten up, with none left behind! Thanks for the quick, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Absolutely the best fried pickles I have ever had! My family wanted me to make another batch! We will so make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States