Deep Fried Corn Meal Sticks (Sorullitos de Maiz) with Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Absolutely fabulous!! I have been making sorullitos for years and experimented with the proportions with varying results, so I wanted to try this recipe. I am very happy to report that the particular ratio of ingredients here is SPOT ON. If you are looking for a sorullito that is crunchy outside and tender soft on the inside, with a taste on the sweeter side, THIS IS IT!!! (but of course you can reduce the sugar and increase the salt a bit if you want it to have more of a savory taste). I did put a stick of extra sharp cheddar cheese inside of each piece for an extra YUMMMM Thanks for the recipe Marisa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS RECIPE FOR YEARS! Ohhh how these take me back! My father used to make these for the family when I was a little girl. I couldn't stop eating these!! These are perfect! THANKS FOR POSTING THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've always wanted to learn how to make sorullos, and this recipe was Great. Now I don't have to wait to visit my mom to have sorullos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Fantastic!!! So easy to make, So Super Yummy to eat. OFF the chain on star ratings. I was looking for something to go with the fried fish dinner that I was making for my family other than corn bread, came on site and under corn fritters I found this wonderful recipe. IT was PERFECT. My entire family raved about it. I was not too sure about the mayo/ketchup sauce but it compliments the sticks beyond belief, I made exactly as directed and would not change a thing I would not even add the cheese as it said could be done, THESE ARE PERFECT THE WAY THEY ARE> Thank you for sharing a divine side item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Pretty close to how my dad makes them. I was craving sorullitos & I'm not in Puerto Rico so I had to prepare them myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
We used vegan mayo instead of the regular stuff. Other than that we didn't change a thing and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I think that this recipe was delicious! It's 4/5 stars simply because I'm from a Puerto Rican household and I've had my fair share of sorullos so well, my standards are high. But this is a really nice recipe! Really crispy when fried, but soft inside. Oh and in terms of the mayo ketchup, I just make it to taste. Start with a dollop or two of mayo and a squirt of ketchup. Adjust to your taste. It's very forgiving. Yummy! Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
My sister makes these all the time, but it's the only time we get to eat them! My daughter begged me to make some so I took a chance with this recipe and not only was it simple they are perfect crunchy outside and moist inside. I also added 1tsp vanilla extract and 1tbls extra sugar, I also added a small piece of cheddar cheese to the center of some and they were great! Thanks for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Easy and good. Don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States