Deep Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is my second attempt. With the tweaking and experimenting I did they came out perfect. Here is what you do, bring peanut oil up to 375 degress or a bit higher (this is a must). Bring curds to room temperature and roll in flour before battering. This recipe makes about 20 curds. I used (approx) 1/8 cp buttermilk, splash of beer, 1/4 cp flour,and 1/8 tsp baking powder and mix. Roll curds in flour and then in batter. Drop in oil and fry approximately 30 sec or until brown. I've found that by using buttermilk it gives the curds more flavor and they brown up nicely. Please give this a try, It worked for me! Finally!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I also added garlic powder & some cayenne powder- some were delish, but I need a lesson in frying. The batter fell off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Unless its whipped in the mixer the batter turns out too thick and the ending result is almost not even a cheese curd just over coated warm soft cheese. I used this recipe twice because I had no beer for the Real Wisconsin Cheese Curds which is the 5 star cheese curd recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amb~purr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is super easy to make, but the outcome was undesirable. The batter didn't stick to the curds and the cheese melted before the batter browned. Suggestions welcomed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Good recipie. The best fried cheese curds I ever had were deep fried buffalo wing flavor cheese curds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
After many variations we think we cracked the State Fair code..(MN that is...) Add garlic powder and a touch more salt. I used half mix of beer and mil. I found freezing the cheese curds overnight and having the oil between 400and 410 work best. I also foundyou had to continue move them around in the oil. I could only do 2-3 at a time other wise they weren't evenly done. Cook just under a minute (golden brown) Hope this helps!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
YOU MUST FREEZE THE CHEESE CURDS BEFORE MAKING!!! OTHERWISE THEY CREATE A GIANT CLUMP OF CHEESE THAT IS REALLY GROSS!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Love it!!!! My husband and I are from Minnesota and we had to move to California for the Air Force, we have been craving cheese curds and looking at the fairs for them but nobody knows what they were except those from the midwest! My mom brought us cheese curds when she came to visit and I could eat them all day ever day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Nothing like fair curds... at all. I should have taken heed to all the negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
these cheese curds are quick, easy, and delicious... but they're not midwest cheese curds. the batter forms a very thin crust almost like a tempura batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyms8

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States