Deep Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Only because I have spent many years working in restaurants and spent quite a bit of time actually talking with a vendor at the MN State fair who explained his process, I feel the need to weigh in on these reviews. The cheese curds should be fresh, at room temperature and when they at room temp, shake them around in little bit of flour to lightly coat them. When the curds are at room temperature, they "sweat" out some of the natural fat so that the flour will adhere to the curd. This step also ensures that that the batter will stick to the curds in the fryer. The batter should be made with beer, not milk and be fairly thin. Excess batter after dipping the curds should be drained from them in a wire mesh strainer (they actually had a very large flat one for this part) but a larger mesh strainer at home works too. The temperature of the oil is critical, the gentleman I spoke with said they keep their fryer at about 375 degrees. Also, the amount of oil used is very important; keep in mind that at the fairs they are using fryers that hold several gallons of oil, a home fryer uses 1.5 to 2 quarts on average so you can't fry very many at a time if you want them to turn out to be the delicious, golden, melty cheese curds we all love at the fair. I have been making these this way for 15 years or so and always get raves for these. Hope this helps anyone who has had problems with the batter sticking or everything turning into a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
If you didn't like this recipe substitute beer for the milk. Make sure your cheese curds are room temperature and not straight out of the fridge. Oil temp should be around 425-450 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
These worked out just fine, no freezing of the cheese needed. I did thin the batter just a bit with about 2-4 TB beer (I dont measure) and added maybe another 1/4 tsp of baking powder to lighten it up... solving the "pancake around cheese" problem. Also if you are burning it your oil is too hot. Get a thermometer and watch it. 350 - 365 is just fine. I eat these (regrettably!) every year at the MN state fair and this is the closest I've been to the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I did thin the batter quite a bit more because with the amount of milk called for, turned out VERY thick. I did freeze the curds for about 1 hour before frying as suggested by other reviewers. I had enough to fry 3 batches, and am not sure what happened with the 1st batch, but it lost most of it's batter in the oil. Scooped out all of the mess, and the 2nd and 3rd batches were just fine. Searched for this recipe because we are from South Dakota, and we went to the twin cities and stayed in Savage, MN and ate at a sports bar called the Buffalo Tap, and they have the MOST AWESOME Jalepeno Deep Fried Curds in the world. We were trying to duplicate those. These were good but nowhere near as good as those. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Perfect!!! After reading all the reviews I was super worried if they would work, and they work great! I overnight shipped some fresh cheese curds to Wyoming for my fiancee's (from WI) birthday- trust us we KNOW fair cheese curds and these are really pretty close! Only thing I would change would be to thin/add with beer in the batter also: * I froze the curds for an hour already battered as was suggested in another review- and THIS IS KEY!!! I dont think it would work otherwise! * Don't have you oil too hot! they taste really wrong if the oil is too hot. Keep it low and fry until you can see oozing cheese (about a minute) you want a nice blond curd not dark. Good luck! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Sounds like the last user had the oil way too hot and burnt the outside of the curd which left no time for the inside to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
These were all batter and not good tasting batter either. Next time I'll learn to read the reviews first. I may try this recipe again but taking the advice of many to lightly coat and freeze before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I havent tried this particular recipe, but as the wife of a transplanted born and bred Wisconsinite, I have learned the tricks of making cheese curds and this recipe is missing the most important step...you have to FREEZE the cheese curds after you coat them for AT LEAST an hour before you fry them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made the recipe and it came out great. I used my flash fryer and never had a burnt curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
They were greasy and messy. The cheese separated from the batter, and I was left with one big mess! The few that I did manage to make were marginal at best. Like everyone else stated: NOT LIKE THE MN STATE FAIR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States