Deep Fried Camembert with Raspberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great recipe one of my old fav's!! If your having trouble with oozing cheese simply do this process twice (Dip each cheese wedge in egg and turn to coat. Roll cheese in crumb mixture to coat.) This will give you a stronger shell. Also coating cheese lightly in flour before the egg will help. Hope this is useful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I cannot rave about this recipe enough.... I loved it & can't stop thinking about it. ;o) I cut the recipe in half, breaded the wedges then stuck them in the freezer for 30 minutes before frying, to avoid leakage. It worked! They browned up beautifully & got gooey inside but kept their shape & neevr sprang a leak. I served these as a first course to our Valentine's dinner w/ apple slices & chambord spritzers. I could have skipped everything else & just had these. LOL The salty/cheesy/ sweet combo is to die for. The only changes I made to the recipe was to use stuffing mix ground up in the food processor for the bread crumbs as I was out. I'm sure the seasnings in the stuffing mix added extra flavor & I will repeat the sub next time. Thansk for a thoroughly enjoyable recipe, Jennifer Romasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
You would be very surprised considering the ingredients how ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS this is!!! DO NOT forgo the raspberry dipping sauce!!! Perfect for a small get-together or romantic dinner if you want to be PRAISED AND LAUDED for your fine culinary skills!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time, and this is the best I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Thank you for the submission. I enjoyed the Raspberry sauce with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
try it with cranberry sauce or jelly "WOW"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Delish! I mixed 50% balsamic vinegar with 50% raspberry jam for a tangy suace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLYSCOTTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I really enjoyed these except I am not sure about the sesame seeds. I am going to try without next time and see if I like it better. One thing that I would recommend is slicing the cheese and putting it in the freezer for a while. It makes so that that the cheese doesn't ooze out...if it is not gooey enough after frying, stick in the microwave a few seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I cheffed this for a party. It was very difficult to deep fry without it "springing a leak" and leaking cheese all over the place. I had to deep fry, try to flop it back & forth to keep the cheese inside, then freeze. Then I had to bring to room temperature to serve w/ the sauce. I'm trying it again to see if it works better, if it doesn't I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Wow... this is awesome. I had ordered an entree of deep fried camembert with raspberry sauce when I was in Germany, and every time I raved about it to friends at home, they looked at me like I was crazy! When I found this recipe, I had to try it right away, and it is everything I remembered, but who knew it was so easy to make?! I can screw up ANY recipe, but this was a cinch! Wow... just wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States