Deep Fried Black Eyed Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I just love this recipe because it's fun & different :o) If the peas are fried long enough, they're light & crispy, almost hollow & pop in your mouth. Be sure they're nice & cool before frying. Use a nice sized onion because the fried onion bits are great! The Old Bay & kosher salt are totally to taste, just like salting your popcorn, taste as you go. I hope you enjoy, thanks for trying!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I made these for my get together last night and everyone talked about how they have never heard of these or even tried these before. I will admit I messed up the recipe. I forgot to add the old bay. Instead I ended up seasoning with ground red pepper and kosher salt. (may be helpful for those that dont have the old bay) They tasted almost like little potato chips. Very Good, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Crunchy outside, full of flavor inside. The recipe is good as it is. We've made couple of changes just to try to get different tastes. Used Italian spice mix and red hot chili to season after frying. Drained the extra oil. I put a layer of Turkish yogurt on a plate and put the beans on it. Hot-cold, crunchy-soft, spicy-plain.... Wonderful joy of tastes.... Thank you for this different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iva66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I was not impressed. What an oily mess and a terrible jolt to ones system (meaning your body). And one does what, with these fried things? Yes I fried them as the recipe called for and it looked just like the picture, but please...popcorn would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osseo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
My friends loved these! Crispy, salty, flavorful & snacky :) Mine turned out nice & light, not greasy like another reviewer, maybe their oil needed to be hotter. I made sure mine were well drained before frying too. So what if they're not healthy, they're fried!! Like other guilty pleasures, not an everyday thing but fun for guests & really tasty. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swissmisschocolatekiss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Mmmmmm! big hit at our place We grow our own and this is a different way to use them. I used a cajun season salt and extra garlic salt. Be sure to drain well on paper towels.I did a quick soak method ,worked fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I must've been missing something, but this did not turn out good for me. Frying the peas was very painful - they oil kept bubbeling and overflowing from the pot even when only a few of the peas were pu in there. Had to dich tthe recipe latminute. Not sure what went wrong - sounded a great recipe on first read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funkyme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dsmhero
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Just made these for the first time. I must say they turned out fantastic! Nice, light and not too greasy just make sure your oil is nice and hot. The only thing I changed was using sea salt instead of kosher. All my family loved this recipe, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I normally hate beans/peas because of their texture. The crispiness of deep-frying takes that all away. This recipe is wonderful. My only tip is to use a pot to deep-fry these. I did everything I could to make sure they were drained - but still all the water from soaking caused my deep-fryer to overflow, and I lost a lot of oil and had a big mess to clean up. Delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Not for the meek at heart - this recipe takes a brave soul and lots of patience!! Deep frying water filled beans is a challenge as it boils over quickly but in the end a tasty fun treat for New Years - bring on the luck in 2013!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States