Deep Dish Strawberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jenni
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Easy, Delicious and a perfect dessert for your summer BBQ! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I have a standard strawberry pie I've been making for years, but I like trying new recipes, and this was was great. I followed the recipe to a T, and it came out perfect. If you refrigerate the pie for a few hours, the recommended amount of cornstarch is perfect. Next time I make this pie, I will pour the starwberry mixture in a vita mixer so the sauce would be smoother. The taste was divine, esp. the painted chocolate piecrust. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S. Sundt
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I have never liked traditional strawberry pie, I always found it way too sweet and way too fattening. I was incredibly worried about this one, especially when my strawberry goo thickened up pretty much immediately and I knew it wasn't going to survive 12-14 minutes on the burner. I took it off after 5 minutes and tasted it; my test taste must've had a pocket of lemon juice, it was terribly sour. However, this recipe turned out AMAZING! The lemon juice must've calmed down after cooling in the fridge (mine set in less than 2 hours). I never keep blueberries around because I tend to forget I have them and they go bad fairly quickly, so I used sliced kiwi instead. I can picture myself sitting on the beach drinking my frozen daiquiri and eating a slice of this beauty. The only thing I would do differently next time is use less chocolate (I used my own Wilton chocolate wafers and overdid it a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is an incredibly well thought out recipe. I followed it to the tiniest detail, and it was beautiful and delicious! The chocolate in the crust is a very clever touch to keep it firm, and the filling combines for ideal texture and flavor. The whole berries at the base in particular make for a perfect element of beautiful fresh berry flavor in the sweet and tart filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I baked this pie yesterday, following the directions exactly, and it got rave reviews from everyone in my family. None of them are normally "dessert people" but everyone went back for a second helping of this pie! The chocolate painted pie crust was brilliant! I used white chocolate and it added such a yummy flavor to the pie and a crunchiness to the crust. The level of sweetness was perfect, as was the consistancy of the filling. Thanks so much for sharing this amazing recipe...it has become an instant summertime favorite in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
the only thing I realy did different was quarter the strawberries rather than leave them whole....this pie is incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bichon
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This recipe is delicious!! I used more strawberries than the recipe calls for but I had a deep dish 10 inch pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I wasn't really that impressed with this. I followed the recipe exactly and it was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this for a neighborhood bbq and I was asked for the recipe by everyone that had it. It was the chocolate on the crust that people mentioned the most. It just adds something different. It is one of those desserts that makes people think you're a master baker even though it is really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States