Deep Dish Potato and Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Delicious! I didn't even bother with a crust at all - I just made the filling and dumped it into a 9" square baking pan. It was much lower in fat, calories and carbs that way, and my boyfriend and I both enjoyed it a lot. I had a large pumpkin already, so wasn't sure how much to use in the recipe. I ended up using about 1 pound of cooked pumpkin, and about 1 1/2 pounds of potatoes - it was just right for the 9" pan. The thyme really gave the dish a great flavor, and it was nice to have a non-sweet use for pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Loved it! My husband who hates pumpkin, never suspected a thing. In fact, he thought that it was so hearty that there had to be meat in it. I used a ready made pie crust instead. It was a tad dry, but made up for it in taste. Great for vegetarians too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I made this last night and it was a hit with the whole family. DELICIOUS! I substitued a spinach crust, but next time will not bother with a crust at all. It really doesn't need one. I substituted soy cheddar for the monterey jack and added about 3/4 cup of organic beef stock to the mixture before baking, as it seemed a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Excellent- great lunch to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This has become a family favorite! I use a refrigerated crust. There's enough filling for 2 regular 9" pie pans. We eat one and freeze the other. This is a great fall or winter side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Made the filling exactly as submitted but omitted the crust -- thought I'd do a trial run. My family gives it 5 thumbs up! This will become a dish I take to Thanksgiving dinner this year. One question: there is one family member that isn't too fond of thyme. Could anyone suggest an alternative herb to use that would similarly enhance all the flavours?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
My tastebuds are singing!!! My family loved this!!! I made the following changes: I peeled my-baked-potatoes (I didn't notice in the recipe where it mentioned to peel or not to peel)and then added some canned yams, which I drained and cubed (I'd use baked sweet potatoes next time, but I didn't have any). Also I stirred in some some evaporated milk (about 2/3 of the can) and grated parmesean cheese and let that all cook down a bit. I took some buttery club crackers and mixed them with real melted butter and made a 9 x 13 crust. Top with potato/pumpkin filling, sprinkle with more parmesean, baake at 350 until crust is done, and YUMMY!!! The perfect fall food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe came out perfectly for me. I did peel my potatoes after they baked. The flavor was somewhat like Northern Michigan's famous pasties and so next time I might try adding some turnip or a little parsnip to the mix. Thanks! Update: Just a couple weeks later and I'm all set to make this dish again. It was that good. I found some organic, whole wheat pie crusts in the frozen section of our grocery and will try those. We do enjoy the pie crust in this recipe. Fantabulous! Oh yeah, I've also agreed to make this for three friends. No matter, this dish is THAT easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
MM Good! Awesome side dish for my Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was extremely tasty! I doubled the garlic, hubby said even more would have been better, and added a bit more salt and some diced chicken to make it an entree. I also cooked the veggies in butter to give them more flavor. I used the No Roll Pie Crust II from this site, made with whole wheat flour, super yummy combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States