Deep Dish Potato and Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Unlike some previous reviewers, I like the taste an oven baked crust gives to a pie like this. I used a ready made crust, which was fine, but wouldn't mind substituting a jazzier one. The flavor was great, you could taste everything individually and together. It isn't much for the eye (hence the 4 stars), so I will probably add something with a splash of green next time. Also, for vegetarians, the protein levels aren't wonderfully high, so some tofu marinated in a tofurkey seasoning mixture might be a good add, or perhaps some shelled edamame? I will continue to play with this, it's worth it. Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFTHEHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Excellent- great lunch to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I made this last night and it was a hit with the whole family. DELICIOUS! I substitued a spinach crust, but next time will not bother with a crust at all. It really doesn't need one. I substituted soy cheddar for the monterey jack and added about 3/4 cup of organic beef stock to the mixture before baking, as it seemed a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I am not going to bother with a crust next time because it shrunk so much and didn't really add anything to the taste. The flavors of the potatoes and herbs were wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Loved it! My husband who hates pumpkin, never suspected a thing. In fact, he thought that it was so hearty that there had to be meat in it. I used a ready made pie crust instead. It was a tad dry, but made up for it in taste. Great for vegetarians too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
we loved this recipe! i used a really small pumpkin, plus about 1/2 of a small butternut squash, and i used small red, white and purple potatoes, so it was really colorful. and VERY tasty. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Delicious! I didn't even bother with a crust at all - I just made the filling and dumped it into a 9" square baking pan. It was much lower in fat, calories and carbs that way, and my boyfriend and I both enjoyed it a lot. I had a large pumpkin already, so wasn't sure how much to use in the recipe. I ended up using about 1 pound of cooked pumpkin, and about 1 1/2 pounds of potatoes - it was just right for the 9" pan. The thyme really gave the dish a great flavor, and it was nice to have a non-sweet use for pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
My son wanted to take this in his lunch the next day! I thought the crust was very boring for this - next time I would use a cheddar, spinach or nut crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States