Deep Dish Potato and Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Not much exciting flavor, just veggies with allspice. And I don't think the cheese adds anything flavor-wise, just extra calories. I made without crust. I wouldn't bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
nice, but a little bland. It needed something. One of my daughters gave it a 9 and the other a 7, so I'll give it 4 stars. For me it was only worth three, but I have to appreciate something that is a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this pie using a polenta crust to cut down a little on the fat and calories. I think the flavors went well together. The pie filling is pretty easy to make. I added some chicken broth to the filling because it was a little dry. It seemed like it could use another flavor to counteract the sweetness of the corn and pumpkin. Maybe sour cream? green chilies? I'm not sure. I agree that even reducing the dried thyme to 1tsp is still too much thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Since I used dried thyme, I reduced the amount, but still found this very heavy on thyme. Also, I didn't care for the corn with the squash & potatoes. There are several other butternut squash recipes I prefer over this, so it's unlikely we'll make it again (with or without the crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I give 4 stars, only because I did alter it a bit. I added pork sausage to it, and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Not sure if I did something wrong, but no one in my family thought it was a "make again" dish. I did make it without the crust, but based on the other reviews, I don't think that could have been the problem. Feels like it needs something...maybe a splash of cream or more spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I thought this was good, however I think it could have used a little more "kick". I am thinking about making it as a Thanksgiving side dish perhaps with some chili powder, red pepper flakes, or something of that nature. Or maybe some ground turkey or sausage would be good. I did not make the crust, but I thought it would make a better side dish than a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Monak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I didn't like the corn. I think I'd make it without it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitulsa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was extremely tasty! I doubled the garlic, hubby said even more would have been better, and added a bit more salt and some diced chicken to make it an entree. I also cooked the veggies in butter to give them more flavor. I used the No Roll Pie Crust II from this site, made with whole wheat flour, super yummy combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
MM Good! Awesome side dish for my Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States