Deep Dish Potato and Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
My son wanted to take this in his lunch the next day! I thought the crust was very boring for this - next time I would use a cheddar, spinach or nut crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Delicious! I didn't even bother with a crust at all - I just made the filling and dumped it into a 9" square baking pan. It was much lower in fat, calories and carbs that way, and my boyfriend and I both enjoyed it a lot. I had a large pumpkin already, so wasn't sure how much to use in the recipe. I ended up using about 1 pound of cooked pumpkin, and about 1 1/2 pounds of potatoes - it was just right for the 9" pan. The thyme really gave the dish a great flavor, and it was nice to have a non-sweet use for pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
we loved this recipe! i used a really small pumpkin, plus about 1/2 of a small butternut squash, and i used small red, white and purple potatoes, so it was really colorful. and VERY tasty. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Loved it! My husband who hates pumpkin, never suspected a thing. In fact, he thought that it was so hearty that there had to be meat in it. I used a ready made pie crust instead. It was a tad dry, but made up for it in taste. Great for vegetarians too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I am not going to bother with a crust next time because it shrunk so much and didn't really add anything to the taste. The flavors of the potatoes and herbs were wonderful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
I made this last night and it was a hit with the whole family. DELICIOUS! I substitued a spinach crust, but next time will not bother with a crust at all. It really doesn't need one. I substituted soy cheddar for the monterey jack and added about 3/4 cup of organic beef stock to the mixture before baking, as it seemed a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
Excellent- great lunch to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
Unlike some previous reviewers, I like the taste an oven baked crust gives to a pie like this. I used a ready made crust, which was fine, but wouldn't mind substituting a jazzier one. The flavor was great, you could taste everything individually and together. It isn't much for the eye (hence the 4 stars), so I will probably add something with a splash of green next time. Also, for vegetarians, the protein levels aren't wonderfully high, so some tofu marinated in a tofurkey seasoning mixture might be a good add, or perhaps some shelled edamame? I will continue to play with this, it's worth it. Thanks Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFTHEHOUSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This has become a family favorite! I use a refrigerated crust. There's enough filling for 2 regular 9" pie pans. We eat one and freeze the other. This is a great fall or winter side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Brought this to a potluck and people thought it was fine. I made it without crust as one reviewer suggested, but I definitely think it needs a crust. Otherwise, it doesn't look presentable. I had to substitute parsley for thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States