Deep Dish Potato and Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
nice, but a little bland. It needed something. One of my daughters gave it a 9 and the other a 7, so I'll give it 4 stars. For me it was only worth three, but I have to appreciate something that is a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this pie using a polenta crust to cut down a little on the fat and calories. I think the flavors went well together. The pie filling is pretty easy to make. I added some chicken broth to the filling because it was a little dry. It seemed like it could use another flavor to counteract the sweetness of the corn and pumpkin. Maybe sour cream? green chilies? I'm not sure. I agree that even reducing the dried thyme to 1tsp is still too much thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Since I used dried thyme, I reduced the amount, but still found this very heavy on thyme. Also, I didn't care for the corn with the squash & potatoes. There are several other butternut squash recipes I prefer over this, so it's unlikely we'll make it again (with or without the crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I give 4 stars, only because I did alter it a bit. I added pork sausage to it, and everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azeventdiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Not sure if I did something wrong, but no one in my family thought it was a "make again" dish. I did make it without the crust, but based on the other reviews, I don't think that could have been the problem. Feels like it needs something...maybe a splash of cream or more spices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I thought this was good, however I think it could have used a little more "kick". I am thinking about making it as a Thanksgiving side dish perhaps with some chili powder, red pepper flakes, or something of that nature. Or maybe some ground turkey or sausage would be good. I did not make the crust, but I thought it would make a better side dish than a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Monak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I didn't like the corn. I think I'd make it without it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitulsa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was extremely tasty! I doubled the garlic, hubby said even more would have been better, and added a bit more salt and some diced chicken to make it an entree. I also cooked the veggies in butter to give them more flavor. I used the No Roll Pie Crust II from this site, made with whole wheat flour, super yummy combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
MM Good! Awesome side dish for my Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Kath

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This recipe came out perfectly for me. I did peel my potatoes after they baked. The flavor was somewhat like Northern Michigan's famous pasties and so next time I might try adding some turnip or a little parsnip to the mix. Thanks! Update: Just a couple weeks later and I'm all set to make this dish again. It was that good. I found some organic, whole wheat pie crusts in the frozen section of our grocery and will try those. We do enjoy the pie crust in this recipe. Fantabulous! Oh yeah, I've also agreed to make this for three friends. No matter, this dish is THAT easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States