Deep Dish Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Awesome with my own tweaks. I'll say it takes some time/love to make a decent lasagna so plz do - it's worth it. Best noodle method - use a large pan and cover raw noodles with boiling water and let sit for 10 - 15 minutes vs recipe directions. I eyeballed herbs/seasonings with 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to my homemade tomato sauce. I use 4 cups mozz and more fresh grated Parm. I also mix roasted garlic (and herbs) in ricotta mix with a little freshly grated nutmeg. 3 cans of tomato paste seemed "heavy" to me so I just skipped it. I like submitter's idea to mix spinach with the ricotta, that works wonderfully. Anyway ~ If you can plan ahead: assemble and store (covered) in fridge day before cooking for a stress free company dinner. What I've found works best for layering: bottom - 1/4 C sauce + 2 T olive oil (shake it around pan bottom) - layer of par cooked pasta - ricotta mix - shredded mozz & parm - cooked sausage (on it's own) - sauce and then another layer of pasta. Repeat with last layer of pasta on top. Spread sauce evenly on top and I use a baking sheet to cover pan. I add top layer of mixed cheese last 15 minutes of baking - uncovered. I recommend: Do NOT try to cut/serve lasagna straight away. Allow it to sit for at least 15 minutes or it falls apart. Note: Have all components ready or you might get overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I was somewhat dissapointed with this lasagna, I am so used to following the one on the back of the pasta boxes but this time I wanted to try something new. The results were not as good as my usual one and there wasn't enough meat in the final dish, also, the tomato paste took over the entire flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Definitely a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
My husband made this one night. It was good, but took a long time. Also, the sausage taste didn't really come out, so it seemed a bit of a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
great lasagna! I love that it has sausage instead of ground beef...so much more interesting. For anyone who has not tried this, I did and it worked great - instead of boiling the noodles, I laid them on a sheet pan and poured boiling water over them while I was making the red sauce (btw, I like diced tomatoes, so I substitued those instead of tom. sauce and water as called for). Since the dish bakes for 45 minutes, the noodles came out perfect!! So much easier than boiling the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This is definately the best lasagna recipe I've found by far. The only change I made was using turkey italian sausage since I don't eat pork. Easy to make, and the perfect sauce to pasta ratio (some recipes I've tried have come out a little too dry). My honey said this was better than his Mom's, and that's saying a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
this recipe makes a mean lasagna! i added sliced zucchini, fresh mushrooms and used 4 cups shredded mozz. i didn't have fresh parsley so i substituted with 3 1/2 tablespoons dried. it turned out so yummy! it's time consuming but the end result is well worth the effort. i will be making this again, and again, and again!! thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This is by far the easiest lasagna I have ever made, even though I took a lot of liberties and used a lot of leftovers. It was DELICIOUS. About doubled the meat and made L/O seasoned beef taco mix taste like Italian sausage by seasoning it unmercifully. (I think I overdid the crushed red pepper, though, since everyone drank an awfully lot of fluids…) About doubled the cheese mixture, since that is what I had in the freezer. (It was a mixture of 1/2 ricotta and 1/2 cottage cheese.) Went heavy on the spinach too, to finish up what was in that package. In addition to the garlic powder, I also added some fresh minced garlic to the ricotta mixture. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly--oh, did I mention that I used no-boil noodles, and added a small amount of Monterey Jack cheese on the very top, since the Mozzarella looked a bit anemic??? Even though a lot of this sounds silly, I would pretty much make it the same way next time, except that I would use the Italian sausage!!! It was absolutely YUMMY, and, as I can attest, hard to screw up. Do try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Really good, but a little complicated as this was my first lasagna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Excellent recipe - I made it for my girlfriend and it was a huge hit. I used hot Italian sausage instead of sweet. It was just a tad salty, so I'd recommend using a little less garlic salt or throwing a pinch of sugar into the sauce. Also be generous with the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States