Deep Dish Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I thought to give this a try because it looked easy. I didn't add a full cup of water sinse the other reviewer had trouble with it. I found that like them, It was still a lot of liquid. I ended up having to poor a lot of it off. Next time I think less then 1/2 a cup water will be fine. I might give it a try again but I'm not crazy about cherries to begin with I just had some cherries I needed to use up. Other people in my house enjoyed it. So, if you are going to try this don't use too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I added no water and even drained the cherries just a bit. I used an oil crust and it wasn't bad. A simple cherry pie with no pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PavlodarSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I gave this 1 star because my husband liked it. He is the cherry lover not me. I keep thinking I did something wrong because when the pie cooled it looked like cherry SOUP! I had to drain off all the water before cutting into it and there was still more water! I enjoyed the crust and that was about it. I am curious to see if anyone else makes it and has the same problem I had! Good luck because I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Someone is joking with this recipe adding a cup of water! The juice from the canned cherries is all you need BUT you do need flour or corn starch to thicken the liquid otherwise you'll have a soupie mess. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is obviously missing some ingredients. You don't need the water and you need corn starch to thicken it. If you're using canned cherries, you don't even need the liquid from the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bloomfield, New York, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We even tried to resurrect it by adding cornstarch and gelatin and decreasing the amount of water... It was a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Save your time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Too wet. Boring flavor. Needs thickener. The recipe resembles a home-ec assignment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Pie was inedible and way too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Ummm . . . no. Instead, try this cherry pie recipe (Best Cherry Pie by Leia) also from this site. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States