Deep-Dish Cast Iron Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I've tried this recipe twice, the first time I used all the dough but it seemed like far too much, 2nd time I used about 1/2 and that was in a massive 15" cast iron skillet. I also added cheese inside the crust with some garlic butter too. Amazing! 1/2 the dough works great and can make two pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
25 minutes is not enough!! It was a soft, doughy mess. I put it back in for another 30 and it was actually cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very easy and the dough turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was delicious, easy & fun to make with my son! Directions were easy and the end result was delicious. I would add a little garlic seasoning to sprinkle over the top when you put it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Wonderful way to make pizza! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kc
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
My family loved this pizza. It took longer to bake (at 400 degrees it took 35 min to get golden brown). I followed the crust recipe exactly and I thought the dough was the right amount for a "deep dish" pizza. I upped the cheese from 1/3 cup per layer to 2/3 cup per layer and will even go a little heavier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have a "Pizza Maker", which is basically a deep dish pizza pan with a heating element. You put everything together in it and close the lid and it bakes the pizza. I have been looking for a dough recipe that made the right amount, since most make too much. This was it. It came out amazing. I took it from the pizza maker and stuck it under the broiler for a few mins to brown the cheese and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe, pizza crust was chewy, but not tough. I added more cheese. Instead of canned or jarred pizza sauce, I used "Delicious Pizza Sauce Recipe" from allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I made two of these pizzas. On the first one, I used the full amount of dough in my large cast iron skillet. On the second pizza, I used about 2/3 of the dough. I found that both pizzas had too much dough for our tastes. I will make it again, but make two pizzas with one recipe of the dough, and I believe that we will STILL have deep dish pizzas. The taste is good; I love the texture that the cast iron brings to the crust. Good recipe...you just have to love a tremendous amount of crust/dough in order for this recipe to be exactly for you! Ours turned out way thicker than the picture shown. I will try to upload the picture of our first pizza. Thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States