Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Yeah, this is totally cake. Followed the recipe almost exactly. I like chocolate chips, so I threw a few in there. Baked 40 minutes and got a nicely done product with very nice flavor, but I wouldn't classify these as brownies. Brownies should be chewy and super chocolaty. This recipe yields a very nice chocolate cake flavor that kids would be major fans of. Its sweet and buttery, and goes fantastically with a glass of milk... but yeah, its cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarinandMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I followed the original recipe exactly and I think the taste and texture came out just about perfect. Mine did fall during baking, but the brownie I got out of the pan was very cake like, and yet still somewhat chewy in the middle. A perfect compromise for those who like the "cake" brownie, and the spouse who likes the "chewy" brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Was good on the first day, but was AWESOME the days after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Mislabeled, this is NOT a brownie recipe but a dense chocolate cake recipe. Still searching for a good brownie recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
These were tasty and I adjusted them to fit my exacting gooey tastes. I substituted one egg with 1T ground flax seed and 3T water. Then, once all mixed up and in the pan I swirled on chocolate sauce and sweetened coconut flakes. Finally, once out of the oven I sprinkled the top with chocolate chips and marshmallows. Warm and gooey these were delicious and no box mix was necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I double it and followed the the recipe as written, except I used dark chocolate cocoa powder!! The brownies are wonderful!!!! I did mix everything by hand as suggested by other reviews. I will not be using a box for brownies anymore!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and these were great! My husband isn't big on sweets and he ate as many as I did. They stayed moist in the foil-covered pan for days, which made it easier to not eat 4 at a time. They are a cross between fudgy and cake brownies, nice and dense but not so rich they make my teeth hurt. I still want fudgy brownies now and then but this is my new go-to brownie recipe. As I continue making this recipe I'll start fiddling with things, like subbing part whole wheat pastry flour and subbing applesauce for a bit of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
1 WORD=CHOCOLICIOUS! Very good, I eliminated 1 egg but kept everything else exactly...wonderful and quick. They cooked for about 30 minutes. I added a few walnuts and chocolate chips to the mix for extra chocolately-ness. Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
i give them five stars for taste but a four because if i eat one i have to have another. its a vicious cycle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Excellent! I chopped up part of a raspberry chocolate bar, and it melted into puddles of chocolatey flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States