Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took MommyFromSeattle's suggestions and increased the baking cocoa by an additional 1/4 cup, added 3 extra tablespoons of sugar, eliminated one egg and the baking powder, and cut the butter back to a half cup. Just under 35 minutes in a 350 degree oven in an 8x8 pan. Not exactly the same recipe but I appreciated her tips. I frosted this with the Brownie "CRAAAAAAACK" Frosting, which is also from this site. I thank MommyFromSeattle for her review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent! Mine seemed to take quite a while to bake, but still came out wonderful tasting. I like the cakey brownies so I left the recipe the as is. But for the family they like em chewy, I followed other reviews, and did 2 eggs, added 1/4 of baking powder, and added a tad more cocoa. Yummy, great either way! Thank you for the recipe my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan82902

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
best brownies I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
After reading other reviews I decided to make this with 2 eggs, little bit more coco powder and I did 1/2 the baking powder that it called for, instead of omiting it entrily. I also used 1/4c apple sauce with 1/2c butter instead of 3/4c butter. AFTER those changes, I do say these are great from-scratch brownies! I rate 3 stars for the fact that I DID alter the recipie due to reviews, but I'm glad I found this recipe. I will most likely make again, adding chocolate chips and/or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Wish I'd reminded myself of the other reviewers' comments before I made a double batch of this recipe exactly as written. OKay! It's not BAD. They're yummy dark chocolatey CAKE. Not Brownies, though. My children will love them, all the same, but it wasn't the dense chewy consistency brownie that I imagined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AbbyGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good!!!!!!! I read a few reviews and decided I would only use 2 eggs and no baking powder. I accidentally took it out of the oven a little too early and it was really fudgey. But it tasted better that way.......... ( I think so, I haven't tried it cooked all the way. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe is fantastic, my husband and son devoured these (they were only out of the oven for a few minutes). Way better than boxed brownies. They didn't take much more time to mix together and make than boxed brownies either! Will make again! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is a really good brownie recipe. I've been searching for something that I can make from scratch without chocolate syrup or candy bars but still comes out fudgy and this is it. I took the other reviewers' suggestions of using one less egg and no baking powder and they were beautifully fudgy! This is now my alternative to boxed mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I decided to venture out and make homemade brownies for the first time & these turned out Amazing! I used 1 cup of white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar, left out the baking powder, used 2 eggs instead of 3 & cut the salt in half. I added 1/4 cup of semisweet chocolate chips and 1 cup of walnuts, then baked for 35 minutes. They were sooooo good! I was a little hesitant about making these because the recipe looked too easy to actually be delicious, but boy was I wrong! Try it! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These are very tasty. I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder (which I'm having trouble finding more of now) and although they turned black from the dark chocolate, they were the most delicious brownies I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States