Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
The flavor of these was right on - deep, dark, rich chocolate. But, the appearance after baking left much to be desired. As the brownies baked, a hard crust formed on the top that proceeded to crack and fall as the brownies cooled. So the top did not look nice, nor did the browies cut nicely. After a quick taste, I decided that these were worth keeping and making some sort of frosting to cover up the top. It worked very well and the brownies disappeared. Worth giving another try to see if it happens again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and the deep dish brownies turned out excellent!! My family loves them. I have no Idea why anyone would "adjust" this recipe. I will be making these again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Nice brownies, but nothing special. I followed the recipe exactly and did not find these different from any other brownies I have made before. I was hoping for a cake-ier brownie, but I had a hard time getting the center to completely set without burning the edges, which is my problem with most brownies. Even cooked them about an hour, but still no dice. I don't like fudge-y brownies, and this recipe did make less fudge-ier than most, but still...nothing special. I give three stars because they ARE good brownies, but I may not make this again since I have slightly better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These Brownies are fabulous! I made then just as submitted. Used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder. Very easy, very delicious! I iced them with cream cheese frosting because I had some left over from a cake I baked. But would be great plain too. Just a great basic brownie recipe that you could do so much with. Thanks Biz for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took MommyFromSeattle's suggestions and increased the baking cocoa by an additional 1/4 cup, added 3 extra tablespoons of sugar, eliminated one egg and the baking powder, and cut the butter back to a half cup. Just under 35 minutes in a 350 degree oven in an 8x8 pan. Not exactly the same recipe but I appreciated her tips. I frosted this with the Brownie "CRAAAAAAACK" Frosting, which is also from this site. I thank MommyFromSeattle for her review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent! Mine seemed to take quite a while to bake, but still came out wonderful tasting. I like the cakey brownies so I left the recipe the as is. But for the family they like em chewy, I followed other reviews, and did 2 eggs, added 1/4 of baking powder, and added a tad more cocoa. Yummy, great either way! Thank you for the recipe my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan82902

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
best brownies I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
After reading other reviews I decided to make this with 2 eggs, little bit more coco powder and I did 1/2 the baking powder that it called for, instead of omiting it entrily. I also used 1/4c apple sauce with 1/2c butter instead of 3/4c butter. AFTER those changes, I do say these are great from-scratch brownies! I rate 3 stars for the fact that I DID alter the recipie due to reviews, but I'm glad I found this recipe. I will most likely make again, adding chocolate chips and/or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Wish I'd reminded myself of the other reviewers' comments before I made a double batch of this recipe exactly as written. OKay! It's not BAD. They're yummy dark chocolatey CAKE. Not Brownies, though. My children will love them, all the same, but it wasn't the dense chewy consistency brownie that I imagined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AbbyGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good!!!!!!! I read a few reviews and decided I would only use 2 eggs and no baking powder. I accidentally took it out of the oven a little too early and it was really fudgey. But it tasted better that way.......... ( I think so, I haven't tried it cooked all the way. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States