Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This recipe is easy to make and it doesn't require chocolate chips; something I never have. It's a delicious recipe and Warren (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was deep dish but not great. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I usually make Mmmm-mmm better brownies from this site and have been using that recipe for chewy brownies for a while now, and it's fantastic for chewy brownies. I had company over who love the opposite, they love cake style brownies, and from the reviews, I figured I'd give these a try. I was pretty sure I would not like them, but these were fantastic! Not as cakey or dry as I thought they'd be, and I loved them and my guests loved them too! I used margarine as I didn't have butter($5.99 a lb at walmart!) and Hershey's dark cocoa powder. The rest I left as is, and added instant coffee powder and chocolate chips, which I add in any brownie recipe. They came out not overpoweringly sweet like some recipes which was nice since we added ice cream! They were not as chewy as some other brownies, but they still had a slight chewiness to them, don't know if that had to do with the margarine, but I'll continue to use it in this recipe. It was a nice change of pace from my regular brownie recipe, and even the chewy brownie lovers, loved this recipe! Will definitely make again! Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This brownie recipe tastes average...I wanted chewy brownies, not cake -like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
The three-star rating is a rounded average from our family. The individual ratings were from 2, 2, 3, and 4 with the rating of 4 coming from the baby who tends to eat anything chocolate without much discrimination. I was looking for a brownie recipe. This one sounded good ("deep dish") and had a 4.5 star rating. I decided to try it without looking much at the reviews. Our batch came out notably dry. It tasted too floury and not enough chocolatey. The texture was more like a heavy cake than a fudgy, chewy brownie. I decided to read the reviews. (Yes, I also read instructions AFTER assembling my children's toys.) Well, then I see review after review saying basically, "Oh, these were wonderful. I just changed (followed by three to five recipe adjustments)." Jiminy! People, there are only 8 ingredients! Changing the amounts of three or more, or adding one or two new ones, amounts to some significant recipe changes. We followed the recipe as written. Collectively, our family rated it 2+ stars and then found another recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
it was awesome thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Don't cook these too much, especially if using convection bake. Add chocolate chips and walnuts for extra deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I don't know how so many people have has success with this recipe. I've been cooking and baking all my life and his turned out so poorly. It tastes like a cheap box mix. It was very very dry and crumbly. I'm not trying to knock his recipe but just tell you how mine turned out. I was hoping for something more chocolatey and chewier. Don't know what happen end here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was probably one of the better recipes that I have tried. Like others suggested, I only use 2 eggs instead of 3. Using 3 eggs would make for brownies that are more cake like. I added about a half cup or so of chocolate chips. For a little extra depth of flavor, I divided the sugar into half brown and half white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States