Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I was in a hurry to make "something" chocolatey one night and saw this recipe. I made it exactly as recipe stated, except I doubled the recipe for a 9 x 13 pan. While they were in the oven I read the reviews. I decided to post this review because no one has seemed to do so that actually made them exactly as stated. My husband and 2 teenage sons absolutely LOVED them. My husband's exact comment was "If this is all you ever made for dessert, I'd be happy" and "These are amazing for something you just on a whim decided to make for a quick "chocolate" fix". These are not a chewy, thin brownie. All the reviews seemed to want to modify the recipe to make them as such. Double recipe in glass 13 x 9 glass pan yeilded about 1 1/4" thick brownie. Very moist. These brownies would be perfect in a brownie sundae. Next time I make them, I will probably try to add a handful of chocolate chips. I rated these 4 stars because I would have rated them a 3 because they weren't heavy chocolate like a chocolate addict would want (me). However, since the 3 men in the house LOVED them so much, I threw in an extra star. I would recommend to anyone to make them per the recipe once before any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tab

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is exactly what I was looking for. I used a brownie recipe on cocoa powder container and the brownies were dry and crumbled. I didn't change a thing and they are absolutely delicious! My husband is already warning me that these are almost gone and he is ready for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Love this recipe!! This has been my go to brownie for years now!! If you;re looking for an gooey brownie, this is not it, but nice fudgey/cake consistency. I often double this and bake in a 9x13 pan for 40 min, or for party-perfect size I use a mini muffin tin and bake for about 18 min each, a double recipe made approx 5 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakn4thekids

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Love this recipe. I use 2 jumbo eggs, add the sugar and a unsweetened baking square to the butter and melt it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
The flavor of these was right on - deep, dark, rich chocolate. But, the appearance after baking left much to be desired. As the brownies baked, a hard crust formed on the top that proceeded to crack and fall as the brownies cooled. So the top did not look nice, nor did the browies cut nicely. After a quick taste, I decided that these were worth keeping and making some sort of frosting to cover up the top. It worked very well and the brownies disappeared. Worth giving another try to see if it happens again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and the deep dish brownies turned out excellent!! My family loves them. I have no Idea why anyone would "adjust" this recipe. I will be making these again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Elmo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Nice brownies, but nothing special. I followed the recipe exactly and did not find these different from any other brownies I have made before. I was hoping for a cake-ier brownie, but I had a hard time getting the center to completely set without burning the edges, which is my problem with most brownies. Even cooked them about an hour, but still no dice. I don't like fudge-y brownies, and this recipe did make less fudge-ier than most, but still...nothing special. I give three stars because they ARE good brownies, but I may not make this again since I have slightly better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These Brownies are fabulous! I made then just as submitted. Used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa powder. Very easy, very delicious! I iced them with cream cheese frosting because I had some left over from a cake I baked. But would be great plain too. Just a great basic brownie recipe that you could do so much with. Thanks Biz for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I took MommyFromSeattle's suggestions and increased the baking cocoa by an additional 1/4 cup, added 3 extra tablespoons of sugar, eliminated one egg and the baking powder, and cut the butter back to a half cup. Just under 35 minutes in a 350 degree oven in an 8x8 pan. Not exactly the same recipe but I appreciated her tips. I frosted this with the Brownie "CRAAAAAAACK" Frosting, which is also from this site. I thank MommyFromSeattle for her review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent! Mine seemed to take quite a while to bake, but still came out wonderful tasting. I like the cakey brownies so I left the recipe the as is. But for the family they like em chewy, I followed other reviews, and did 2 eggs, added 1/4 of baking powder, and added a tad more cocoa. Yummy, great either way! Thank you for the recipe my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan82902

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States