Deep Dish Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This is THE keeper brownies recipe for me. Changes I did: margarine instead of butter, 2 eggs instead of 3, 1 cup of sugar instead of 1.5 cups, used a combo of 1/4cup whole wheat flour + 1/2 cup all purpose flour. With my changes, I thought the brownies were perfectly chocolaty and not too sweet, and even with the baking powder, mine didn't rise that much anyway. Baked for 35mins and were perfectly done. I think next time I'll try using all whole wheat flour to make it even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
yummy! will be making this more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
4.5 stars. I followed some of the reviewers and made some adjustments: 1/2 c butter, 1 c sugar, 2 eggs, 3/4 cup cocoa powder, no baking powder. Well, I dunno if it was b/c I cut out a significant part of the liquid, but there just seemed like too much dry ingredients in the end. I moistened it with a minimal amount of milk, but then there was not enough batter to fill the 8x8 pan. So I made these in cupcake tins, and it worked out fine. I did over-cook a little...they firm up very quickly in the end when you do it in cupcakes, so I'd rec really watching them. I don't remember if other reviewers had problems with not enough batter, but I will double the recipe next time. They tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
doubled for 9x13; 4 eggs instead of 6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This recipe tasted fine but it is definitely not chewy brownies. When made following the recipe 100%, they are spongy and cake-y. Don't be fooled by the high rating, most of the 5 star reviews have drastically modified the recipe to give it that rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Used one less egg and took out the baking powder, but still too cakelike. I also tried gentle mixing so that it wouldn't fluff up. The recipe is easy and tastes ok, but I guess I'll keep looking. Try adding some OJ, orange marmalade, and/or orange oil to taste - it made a pretty good orange brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foperators

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made exactly how recipe stated. They were quite good, but they are more of a cake than a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Excellent, moist. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Daye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made these exactly as original recipe stated, with an additional 1/4 c of cocoa powder and we LOVE them! Favorite Brownie Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I had decided to try my hand at homemade brownies and stumbled upon this recipe. Am I glad that I did! These brownies never last more than 10 minutes once they are cool enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States