Deep-Dish Blackberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Awesome flavor. I wouldn't call it "Deep-Dish" though. I made it in a pie pan & it was really shallow. It has a really yummy sweetness with a sour kick, which I loved. Very delicious. I did the filling exactly as the recipe says, but I got a little nervous about the crust getting too dark as other readers have suggested happens, so I baked the lattice crust (a pre-made one since I was in a hurry) separately and laid it on top when the filling came out of the oven as I do in a cherry cobbler recipe I make. That worked perfectly. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This turned out really tasty. There was a lot more crust than filling, but the crust was very good so there were no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Needs a bottom crust. After all, that's why I eat pie. Otherwise its cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Did not like at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I added a dash of vanilla for a more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I would give this 6 stars.....I have been baking pies for over 46 years and this recipe is one of the best. I used my own recipe for the crust, increased the amount of berries to 6 cups fresh berries and added an extra tablespoon and a half of cornstarch. Filling was not runny and the berries were much better and more plentiful than the recipes that state to cook berries with sugar and cornstarch. BRAVO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was soooooooo good! I had 4 cups of frozen blackberries so I used them all and I followed another reviewer's advice and added a tsp of vanilla. I also used store bought pie crust and just brushed it with milk and sprinkled sugar on it and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This is soooooo good! Try it with vanillia ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very easy to make and just delicious! I sometimes use this recipe (blackberry mixture only, no topping) as a basis for a large cheesecake, with the "Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake" from this website on top. Just pour the blackberry mix into a spring form, then add the ricotta batter, and bake slowly. Our favorite for July 4th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States