Deep Dark Chocolate Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I agree with another user as this recipe is most forgiving. How forgivinf? Check this out : not only have I never made souffle, I have never eaten it! Light and airy - great with coffee ice cream and chocolate syrup. I will be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This souffle was great! I am a chocolate lover and this fudgy sauce really completed the dessert and there's no need to add more chocolate to the souffle itself! Make sure that the egg whites are at room temperature or they will not whip properly. Do not repeatedly open and close the oven door or the movement will cause the souffles to fall. I baked this recipe in 6 small ramakins filled almost to the top for 35 minutes. I recommend serving it like this -when the souffles are done, scoop a small "dent" out of the middle and pour chocolate sauce inside. After that, you could top it with a scoop of ice cream, drizzle the chocolate sauce on top and maybe sprinkle some chocolate pieces, raspberries or strawberries on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I had never made a souffle in my life, but this turned out great I had run out of milk, so I substituted 1/4 water and 3/4 light cream. I used a high-quality cocoa, which made it super-chocolatey. It was gorgeous! It baked up beautifully in a round pyrex bowl. Great warm with ice cream. Individual servings can be reheated in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I've used this recipe over a dozen times already. I've always had consistent results - even made in two different kitchens. I normally add 2 tablespoons of the Hershey's chocolate powder and that is sufficient chocolate for me. But my souffle doesn't stay up like in some restaurants. My friend who uses a different recipe (involving a double-boiler, too much trouble for me) told me to add a teaspoon or two of lemon juice when the egg white peaks just start to form. I tried that the other night and voila! My souffle stayed up beautifully until we dug our spoons into it. I prefer my choc souffle with a little bit of whipped cream. Easily mixed together using heavy cream, some sugar and bit of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I tried this for New Years Eve dessert and it was fabulous. As a baker though I just tweaked it a little. I added 3 oz. of my favorite bittersweet chocolate to the hot milk and whisked until blended. Also added 2T. orange liquor along with the sugar and vanilla. You can sprinkle with confectioners sugar, but we just scooped out and topped with whipped cream and a scoup of homemade icecream. If you are a chocolate lover you need to make this. It was so simple and everyone loved it - also made a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
We did tests of various chocolate souffle recipes from lots of sources and this one was the best! Rich and chocolate-y. Worth the little bit of work required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by das0421

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This VERY easy, forgiving recipe produced great results. I had a small mishap, accidently ran water into the mix, during my first try but the results were still fantastic. Everyone will love. They think it is hard but it and it is easy enough to make most any time. I tried cooking it in individual remekins but didn't get as good of results as I did with one larger ceramic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This recipe is WONDERFUL! I found this recipe extremely forgiving. At first when I blended the cocoa with milk, I thought it might be too thick (since I've never made it before) but I stuck with the recipe and it all turned out great! everyone who ate it enjoyed it. They never would have guessed it was my first time ^___^ I would suggest adding a chocolate sauce on top. Also, I used low fat Hershey's cocao instead of the specified kind as well as skim milk, it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This was a real hit! I added some Baker's Chocolate about 10 minutes into the recipe and it made for an incredible Chocolate center! Wonderful Dessert- great with Ice Cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
My daughter and her boyfriend made this for me for my birthday and it was wonderful. I woke up the next day thinking about this souffle. They add fresh raspberries and strawberries to the ice cream. Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States