Deep Dark Chocolate Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I've used this recipe over a dozen times already. I've always had consistent results - even made in two different kitchens. I normally add 2 tablespoons of the Hershey's chocolate powder and that is sufficient chocolate for me. But my souffle doesn't stay up like in some restaurants. My friend who uses a different recipe (involving a double-boiler, too much trouble for me) told me to add a teaspoon or two of lemon juice when the egg white peaks just start to form. I tried that the other night and voila! My souffle stayed up beautifully until we dug our spoons into it. I prefer my choc souffle with a little bit of whipped cream. Easily mixed together using heavy cream, some sugar and bit of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is definitely deep and dark. You will need to add semi-sweet chocolate like others if you want something "chocolatty" I served with raspberries and choc. sauce and it got rave reviews. I also made it about an hour or so ahead of time and put it in the fridge until the over was free for baking and it was done right after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Me and my 4 year old daughter made this recipe and it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Wow! Delicious AND easy to make. If you make one sweet souffle this year, make this one. I took the advice of some here and added two ounces of semi-sweet chocolate to the mixture. To deal with the slight addition of the melted chocolate liquid, I also doubled the flour to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This was good but I did add 2 ozs of semisweet squares like a previous reviewer suggested. I wasn't sure how cooked it was suppose to be either. I tested it with a toothpick like a cake and it was just a little goopy when I took it out. Was great with Starbucks Java Chip ice cream...but I think anything would be good with that ice cream. You know how if you eat cake or cookies too soon out of the oven you don't get the full flavor of the dessert? It's too hot and sometimes it even tastes better the day after. This dessert is kind of like that. It says to serve immediately but I wonder if you let it sit till it was all the way cool if the flavor would come out more. But I guess the idea of souffles is to serve them warm. All and all it was dee-lish and I would make again but with probably another ounce of bittersweet chocolate. (This is in addition to the cocoa it already calls for.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Nice and easy to make. I do have to agree with the others though that is a bit short in the chocolate flavor. To help compensate for it I made a mocha sauce to pick it up a little. (a strawberry sauce also helps too) All in all I think this is a good base recipe and now it's time to have some fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Easy and impressive *looking*, smells great cooking, and the texture is enticing, too. But where's the taste? My chocoholic husband and I were both let down by the blandness. On separate occaisions, I have tried using a higher cocoa content, better quality cocoa, putting a square of chocolate in the center, adding one T. brewed coffee, adding orange liqueur- and it just never seems to rise above "average" in flavor. It's still in "experiment" mode for me- not a keeper or something I would serve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Easy, yummy, impressive dessert. Can't wait to make it in individual rammekins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Sinfully good, embarassingly easy. I've now made this two weekends in a row- both times served after large dinners- and everybody wanted seconds... or thirds. They literally scraped the bowl last night. We serve with vanilla ice cream and "Fudge Sauce" by Valerie on this site. The BEST dessert ever-- very impressive with fairly little fuss. I was always intimidated by dessert souffles, until now. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
A tad too sweet for me. I would most definetly cut down the amount of sugar added to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States