Deep Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
so moist! Instead of cow's milk I used coconut/almond milk blend (blue diamond makes it) and I used coconut oil instead of butter. I used the same measurements and it worked perfectly. So this recipe can be a dairy-free one as well. So good! (I also used coconut sugar, and no, they don't taste coco-nutty at all.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This cake has been standard birthday cake in my family for as long as I can remember. It is certainly deep, dark, and chocolate! Once I was at a birthday party and everyone was commenting how moist the (box-mix) cake was. But since I was used to this cake, I thought that cake was dry! It is delightful with a variety of chocolate frostings, fillings, etc. It can be made as cupcakes, too; just bake for a shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
BEST chocolate cake ever! I was told it was better than a bakery's. I used Nestle Toll House chocolate lover's frosting. I put the leftovers in the fridge and it tasted even better chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countess Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T and can't say I was that impressed. I made cupcakes, and I'm giving them four stars because they were very moist. However, I have definitely made deeper, darker, chocolatey-ier cake before. I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Awesome cake! Turned out very fluffy and light. Perfect for cupcakes, except they raise quite a bit, so I couldn't get flat tops. Totally fine, though. I will slightly decrease the salt next time, because I could taste it just the tiniest bit and I didn't like that. All around, perfect consistancy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This cake is amazing. It is so chocolatey and moist. I put chocolate mousse in between the layers and used chocolate buttercream frosting. I'll be making it many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is an impressively moist chocolate cake with a deep dark color! It baked beautifully at altitude with the standard high altitude adjustments (less baking powder and baking soda depending on how high you live, slightly less oil and sugar) even though the very thin batter had me unnecessarily worried. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Yummy! This is the first time that I made a chocolate cake from scratch successfully. Very easy and yummy recipe. I did use hot coffee instead of water because it brings out the chocolate flavor more. I also used Rich Chocolate Frosting (found on AR) instead of the frosting in the recipe. Then I spread some Red Raspberry preserves on top. Very good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I have made this cake for many years. It has NEVER failed me (first time I saw the recipe it was in a magazine). I was nervous when I saw how thin the batter was the first time, but it always comes out perfect. Chocolaty and moist and sooooo yummy. I have always frosted it with the frosting recipe it came with, my 4 sons all love this cake. I cannot imagine ever using another chocolate cake recipe. It makes a beautiful double layer cake and so simple as sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This came out good, but not the best I have ever had. I made it as a sheet cake, maybe I will try again as a two layer cake and add hot coffee instead of water. UPDATE:::::: Okay, made this again as I said as a two layer cake with hot coffee instead of hot water and it was fabulous! I split the layers in half and filled them with Heavenly Chocolate Mousse from this site and then covered the whole thing with a chocolate glaze and it was the best cake I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States