Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Tasted good but looked awful. (My husband actually burst out laughing when he saw it thinking it was a joke) I had my mom make this for my birthday and I admit she doesn't give much thought of presentation but this wasn't her fault. She followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out very dry, crumbly and impossible to frost. She ended up just pouring the frosting on top and letting it fall down the sides. Looked like a bad science project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This cake is very good. I used Baker's Chocolate both unsweetened and semi-sweet. I didn't feel like buying raspberry preserves and frozen raspberries. I used instead Raspberry Pie Filling - worked great! I only used 1/2 of the can and then you can use the remainder for garnish on each serving. I received many compliments. As suggested by another reviewer - I forgot to refrigerate and did not die after eating some the next day...and the day after.... ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly and it was beautiful to look at but too dry, too dense, and too much chocolate to the point of being kind of bitter. My guests politely ate half their piece. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This cake was OK. Like some of the other reviewers, I found the cake to be very dry. I'm giving this two stars because although the cake was alright, it wasn't worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Oh...Dear Lord....this is freekin awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I made this for Valentines Dinner. Followed the recipe exactly as it reads. ANd it came out very Blah. The cake was Extreamly dry, not moist like stated. I really expected a much lighter cake since there was very little flour and with the whipped egg whites. The filling was ok, but I would added a bit of sugar. The frosting is ok, a little on the bitterside, I love dark chocolate but my husband prefers a little sweet to his. The over all taste was, so/so. If you can get past the heavyness. I may try this again, but I will modify it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This cake is inferior to most I have had. The raspberry filling is lovely, but use that idea with a better cake recipe. The cake comes out with a dry texture and a remarkably plain taste -- frankly the plain chocolate you use in the recipe tastes better than the cake. In addition it's a lot of fat for so little flavor. Furthermore, preparation is quite hard, especially folding the egg whites into the very heavy chocolate-laden batter. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This recipe is rather complex and it takes quite a bit of time to make. The frosting is WONDERFUL! However, the cake is quite dense and although I followed the recipe exactly the cake was drier than I expected. It has potential to be quite good but I would cut the baking time by at least 7-10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fraser, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Misleading title- it is not what I'd call a cake. I was terribly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I used this recipe for the grooms cake at my wedding. I made a stacked 10" and 6" cake which took 3 recipes. I always bake a week ahead and freeze which worked fine with this cake. It is so fudgy and moist! I put a chocolate buttercream basketweave on the sides and topped with fresh raspberries on the top of each tier. Beautiful and delicious! I got a lot of compliments on it and some people have already asked me to make it for their upcoming occasions! You can only put so much of the filling in between the layers without it squishing out but it would be fine to make extra filling and drizzle it over the slices when you put them on the plate. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States