Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Although this is a tasty cake, it is way too dry and crumbled apart as it sat there in the pans cooling. When I turned it out of the pans onto wire racks, it crumbled further. I doubt I'll use this recipe again, as I followed the directions to a "T" and was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I was really disappointed with this cake. I chose it for the "Deep Chocolate" in the title and for the raspberry centre. However, it was far from "deep" chocolate (very pale in colour, and I found the texture very crumbly/crispy on top due to whipping the egg whites. I was so disappointed that I never even bothered to ice or filli it, so I can't comment on that part. Not sure if it was because the oven temperature was too low and it didn't cook fast enough or what happened, but I think I will stick with a couple of the other great recipes for chocolate cake I have found on here. Glad it worked out for some others! ;) Lorrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was wonderful! I don't like cake, but when the reviews said that this is more like a torte, I had to make it. I made it for a co-worker's birthday, and with 5 people in the office, it was gone by the end of the day. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
There are other cakes out there that are easier to "deal with" and just as tasty, but if you want to give this cake a try here are a few things that I learned. 1) When whipping your egg whites add your sugar at the very end. Your whites will form the soft peaks better when there is no sugar. 2) Frost the top of your top layer before assembling. The raspberry filling oozes out - EVERYWHERE. 3) If you want A LOT of raspberry filling (like I did) I found out that by making three layers I could make holes in the middle layer by using a small biscuit cutter (about the size of a quarter). The holes held the filling and the "leftovers" make great bite-size cakes. 4) Make extra frosting. Because of the egg white/meringue added to the batter the cake is crumbly (not dry)therefore making the cake very hard to frost. With the frosting in liquid form spoon/pour small amount on the cake - spreading gently. You want the frosting to absorb into the cake - you'll have an ugly 1st layer. Allow the frosting to cool; on the cake and the remaining amount in the bowl (do not put the frosting in the fridge it gets too hard). Once the frosting no longer drips off your frosting apparatus you are ready for layer two. HOPE THIS HELPS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
For the cake batter, I used only 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate, and 8 squares of semi-sweet chocolate, because I was worried it would taste too bitter otherwise. It turned out great! The perfect balance of "dark" and sweet flavour. The layers were a little delicate when I took them out of their pans after they cooled, and the top layer cracked in 3 places (which was covered-up with the berries after it was iced!) The icing was still runny after being left at room temperature for about an hour, so it dripped down the sides of the cake a bit. But after refrigeration, it still looked pretty and smoothed out on top, despite the messy edges. I used canned raspberry pie filling (E.D. Smith) between the cake layers, and decorated the top with fresh rasperries, blackberries, and white chocolate (Baker's). It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I followed the directions exactly, and it was enjoyed by all (household members then coworkers when I needed it be gone so I would not eat it all). Next time I might try making it into three layers instead of two and doubling up on the rasberry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my brothers birthday Jan 30, 2008. I would not consider myself a "baker" or a "chef" however I tried this recipe, personally I was very thankful to have everyone's advise regarding the recipe. I followed the tips about baking time to be 10 less than recommended, I doubled the Raspberry's for the filling. The cake a a SMASH HIT!!! It did however take at least 2 hours because I went step by step. You can multitask with the melting of the chocolate over the double boiler..that will save some time. For my first time out of the gate...I have the bug.This recipe set the bar a bit high however now that I know I can create something this delictable, I want to experiment. Thank you all for taking the time to let us know your little tips!!! My own little tip (because I fell in love with the picture on the front..I used a frosting tip bag with home made whip cream....it was so easy and beautiful to look at)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ctellifson
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was a fantastic, rich, gooey cake that had every chocolate lover happy. I made this cake for a friend's birthday and now everyone wants me to make their cakes from now on. Thanks for the recipe! DELICIOUS! **If you don't like dark chocolate, I would suggest using more of the semi-sweet to milk-chocolate squares instead. It was a little too rich for me, but everyone else loved it. Also, I used buttercream frosting instead of the frosting listed. It gave me more room for creativity and evened out the bitterness in the chocolate. For the raspberry filling, I cooked it with raspberry liquor, doubled the raspberries, raspberry preserves (seedless), and a little cornstarch to make it more of a gel. I filled the cake and then used the rest for the the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctellifson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I made this for my husband's birthday, he loved it. I used a lot more raspberries than in the recipe and I layered them in the middle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This cake was delicious. I over folded the egg whites into the batter (which is totally my fault, and often a problem I have), but it just made the cake come out really fudgy instead of fluffy. It was wonderful and no one realized I made a mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephaneeRR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States