Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Amazing! This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had. It is rich, creamy, and delish. It is not fluffy like your typical cake, more like a tort. I followed the recipe for the most part. I am allergic to dairy, so I used Earth Balance instead of butter, and I made the frosting with whipped coconut cream, sweetened coco powder and just a touch of guar gum for thickening. I used more ingredients for the raspberry filling than the recipe called for and would have liked even more raspberry in the finished product. The cake was done baking in 35 minutes, so I agree with others to take it out before the 45 minutes that the recipe calls for. This cake is VERY rich and goes well with vanilla ice cream to help wash it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I would give it 5 stars if the raspberry filling was doubled. The cake was fantastic! My husband's exact words were "restaurant quality." I doubled the filling, added a teaspoon of cornstarch (for a more jell-like filling) and a couple of tablespoons of sugar (to add some extra sweetness, as this cake was for my 5 y/o's b-day) and heated over the stove top until it boiled for 1 minute. Then I let it cool completely before spreading on the bottom cake layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was my first attempt at making a cake from scratch and it was a complete success. It is extremely rich and chocolately and delicious. I did increase the amount of raspberries and preserves by quite a bit, but other than that followed the directions exactly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Although this is a tasty cake, it is way too dry and crumbled apart as it sat there in the pans cooling. When I turned it out of the pans onto wire racks, it crumbled further. I doubt I'll use this recipe again, as I followed the directions to a "T" and was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I was really disappointed with this cake. I chose it for the "Deep Chocolate" in the title and for the raspberry centre. However, it was far from "deep" chocolate (very pale in colour, and I found the texture very crumbly/crispy on top due to whipping the egg whites. I was so disappointed that I never even bothered to ice or filli it, so I can't comment on that part. Not sure if it was because the oven temperature was too low and it didn't cook fast enough or what happened, but I think I will stick with a couple of the other great recipes for chocolate cake I have found on here. Glad it worked out for some others! ;) Lorrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was wonderful! I don't like cake, but when the reviews said that this is more like a torte, I had to make it. I made it for a co-worker's birthday, and with 5 people in the office, it was gone by the end of the day. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
There are other cakes out there that are easier to "deal with" and just as tasty, but if you want to give this cake a try here are a few things that I learned. 1) When whipping your egg whites add your sugar at the very end. Your whites will form the soft peaks better when there is no sugar. 2) Frost the top of your top layer before assembling. The raspberry filling oozes out - EVERYWHERE. 3) If you want A LOT of raspberry filling (like I did) I found out that by making three layers I could make holes in the middle layer by using a small biscuit cutter (about the size of a quarter). The holes held the filling and the "leftovers" make great bite-size cakes. 4) Make extra frosting. Because of the egg white/meringue added to the batter the cake is crumbly (not dry)therefore making the cake very hard to frost. With the frosting in liquid form spoon/pour small amount on the cake - spreading gently. You want the frosting to absorb into the cake - you'll have an ugly 1st layer. Allow the frosting to cool; on the cake and the remaining amount in the bowl (do not put the frosting in the fridge it gets too hard). Once the frosting no longer drips off your frosting apparatus you are ready for layer two. HOPE THIS HELPS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
For the cake batter, I used only 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate, and 8 squares of semi-sweet chocolate, because I was worried it would taste too bitter otherwise. It turned out great! The perfect balance of "dark" and sweet flavour. The layers were a little delicate when I took them out of their pans after they cooled, and the top layer cracked in 3 places (which was covered-up with the berries after it was iced!) The icing was still runny after being left at room temperature for about an hour, so it dripped down the sides of the cake a bit. But after refrigeration, it still looked pretty and smoothed out on top, despite the messy edges. I used canned raspberry pie filling (E.D. Smith) between the cake layers, and decorated the top with fresh rasperries, blackberries, and white chocolate (Baker's). It was a huge hit! Everyone loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I followed the directions exactly, and it was enjoyed by all (household members then coworkers when I needed it be gone so I would not eat it all). Next time I might try making it into three layers instead of two and doubling up on the rasberry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my brothers birthday Jan 30, 2008. I would not consider myself a "baker" or a "chef" however I tried this recipe, personally I was very thankful to have everyone's advise regarding the recipe. I followed the tips about baking time to be 10 less than recommended, I doubled the Raspberry's for the filling. The cake a a SMASH HIT!!! It did however take at least 2 hours because I went step by step. You can multitask with the melting of the chocolate over the double boiler..that will save some time. For my first time out of the gate...I have the bug.This recipe set the bar a bit high however now that I know I can create something this delictable, I want to experiment. Thank you all for taking the time to let us know your little tips!!! My own little tip (because I fell in love with the picture on the front..I used a frosting tip bag with home made whip cream....it was so easy and beautiful to look at)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States