Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Honestly, this cake tastes like something you would pay $6 a slice for in a fancy restaurant. Though there is a process to this cake, it is relatively easy if you have done any baking. I also think that adding more filling is a good idea. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceanna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I was a little skeptical about making this because of some of the reviews but I am so glad I did. I made it for my dad's birthday. My dad is usually a quiet man but he wouldn't stop talking about how good the cake was. High end restaurant quality he said. I followed the recipe exactly except reducing the baking time by 10min. and doubling the filling. Thank you for this amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This recipe was ok, but not that delicious. It's more like a brownie cake rather than a traditional fluffy, moist cake, and it was a little too rich for my tastes. The filling was good but is overwhelmed by the intense chocolate brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Oh. My. God. This cake is so good you may never make another. Now I am talking about the CAKE part. I did not follow the filling (I simply used raspberry jam, rather than jam and fresh raspberries) and to balance the dense chocolate I used a vanilla buttercream icing. I also used only semi-sweet chocolate (as that is all I had) but I followed the procedure EXACTLY. It does dirty a lot of dishes, but the result is an intense, chocolatey cake that is not too heavy (thanks to the egg whites) and is lovely. A crust will form on top, but no worries - that will be quickly covered with filling or icing. If you are making this for a chocolate lover look NO further. This is worth every minute it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I was looking for just a chocolate cake recipe that didn't require cocoa powder (I didn't have any)and came upon this one. I didn't have any unsweetened chocolate, so I replaced it with semisweet chocolate and reduced the amount of sugar by 1/4 cup when beating it into the butter. I also didn't have any rasberries or strawberries, so I used a buttercream frosting to top and fill the cake. It turned out amazing! really moist and dense. Don't freak out if your cake ends up with a crusty layer on the top just out of the oven, the rest of the cake is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Superb! This "cake" is very rich and a sliver will satisfy. The consistency is that of a torte, not a cake. I served this to a group of people and received raves. One should note that it must be refrigerated. It was totally gourmet; thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terralinnda
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I made this cake for a friends birthday, and everyone loved it! I followed one of the previous suggestions and changed the filling. Here is the recipe that I used: 1 1/2 cups frozen raspberries 2 tablespoons lemon juice 1/4 cup sugar 3-4 tablespoons raspberry liquor 1 tablespoon cornstarch Mixed everything together and bring to a boil. While cooking, break up the raspberries with a fork. Once it has boiled, set it aside to cool. It makes a nice tart filling for this scrumptious brownie like cake. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Selma, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Amazing! This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had. It is rich, creamy, and delish. It is not fluffy like your typical cake, more like a tort. I followed the recipe for the most part. I am allergic to dairy, so I used Earth Balance instead of butter, and I made the frosting with whipped coconut cream, sweetened coco powder and just a touch of guar gum for thickening. I used more ingredients for the raspberry filling than the recipe called for and would have liked even more raspberry in the finished product. The cake was done baking in 35 minutes, so I agree with others to take it out before the 45 minutes that the recipe calls for. This cake is VERY rich and goes well with vanilla ice cream to help wash it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I would give it 5 stars if the raspberry filling was doubled. The cake was fantastic! My husband's exact words were "restaurant quality." I doubled the filling, added a teaspoon of cornstarch (for a more jell-like filling) and a couple of tablespoons of sugar (to add some extra sweetness, as this cake was for my 5 y/o's b-day) and heated over the stove top until it boiled for 1 minute. Then I let it cool completely before spreading on the bottom cake layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was my first attempt at making a cake from scratch and it was a complete success. It is extremely rich and chocolately and delicious. I did increase the amount of raspberries and preserves by quite a bit, but other than that followed the directions exactly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States