Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I'm only rating the cake part. It was amazing! I put a strawberry cream frosting on it. My wife would've preferred me to use the chocolate frosting. I'm just afraid of too much chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brennan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I really liked this cake recipe. I made it for a coworker's birthday and it was a big hit. I made a few revisions. Instead of using jam I found a recipe for raspberry filling that called for fresh raspberries, water, and cornstarch. Also, I added some strawberries to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
i only made the cake part (made my rendition of the raspberry filling then topped it with white chocolate-mascarpone frosting....mmmm....) and it was very good!!!! heavy, dense and brownie like, but in a good way. at first it tasted best when (after being refrigerated) lest at room temp for about 10 minutes to soften up. HOWEVER!!!! after 2 days of being in the fridge the cake transformed itself into this incredible truffle-like consistency that was to die for! it may have been the filling seeping it, it may have just been the cake and chocolate mellowing out. i don't know. but if i were to make this again, i would definitely do it a couple days before i intend to serve it for maximum deliciousness! (forgot to mention, i followed the cake recipe to the T. didn't change a thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very rich! If you are looking for a traditional light fluffy cake, this is not it. It is very fudgy and has a great flavor! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkimw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA
Photo by AndrewsCuteCook
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This cake has a smooth, dense, and crumbly texture as opposed to a springy box-cake texture. It's the kind of cake that makes you want to close your eyes and savor it slowly. Very deep chocolate balanced nicely with raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsCuteCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
It was a lot of work to make a super-chocolatey brownie.. I don't know why you whip the egg whites, it did not help the cake any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Not a 'cake'. This is a brownie. I made it. It's a lot of work for a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
DELICIOUS, rich, dense chocolate experience! Didn't have any chocolate squares so substituted 2 cups(!) cocoa and 1/2 c butter, substituted 1 c plain yogurt for 1 c butter, and used gluten free flour (as I'm celiac). This is HEAVEN. Made own strawberry puree thickened w/ cornstarch and creamcheese frosting. AMAZING, thank you Roz!!!! Tastes like heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was more like a brownie than like cake. It was really good, just really rich. We didn't need a lot to be happy. I made triple the filling and used the leftover to top french toast the next morning. I also cooked the filling and added a little corstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
My 12 y/o daughter made this for our anniversary this Summer. My husband says this was "the best cake he ever had!" We live in Europe and have travelled extensively. He's quite 'the food snob' and I've never heard him give such a compliment. She's making it again for a social gathering on Friday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States