Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I made the cake exactly as specified. Then, I used raspberry preserves for the middle layer and chocolate frosting made with confectionery sugar (rather than frosting recipe given) to top. I thought the cake was good overall. The raspberry added a lot. The downside was this cake was crumbly and kind of dry/brownie like. It wasn't the moist cake-like consistency I was hoping for. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I had trouble with the cake. It cracked and crumpled when I moved it. I don't know if I did something wrong or if there's a trick... but it was still good to take the pieces, dip it in the raspberry filling and chocolate icing (which is amazing). Tastes good, but I found it hard to work with...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannieg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Made this cake for my husband's birthday party. As a chocolate lover, I thought it was awesome! I didn't have wax paper so thought I could use oil and flour- def didn't work! Turned into more of a molten cake. I tore up the pieces, added the layer of raspberry mix, topped with rest of torn pieces. I also didn't have enough semisweet chocolate for the frosting. I melted some truffles. Omg, chocolate heaven! Very rich!!! Only need a SMALL piece to be fully satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Delicious! My mother asked for this for her birthday. She absolutely loved it. It even pleased my boyfriends step mother, whom is a very picky eater. She couldn't stop picking at it. I followed the directions for the most part. I used more raspberries and I also put the raspberry mix and a little cornstarch on the stove to get a nice thick gel as some other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this cake as is but exchanged the frosting for a buttercream frosting instead. My husband says that I should have just used the called for frosting because it was just too much with what I made. I was following another reviewer's suggestion. With how I did it, I just wasn't impressed with it. It was alright, but nothing fantastic. Instead of using jam, I reserved the raspberry juice from when it was thawed and added some corn starch and heated it up. The raspberries really made a nice contrast. People just complained that it was too chocolatey. I have to agree. Even just eating the cake (not the frosting) it is very chocolatey and rich. This cake MUST be eaten in very small pieces. I won't make this one again because there are so many recipes out there that are better. If you do make it, use the frosting that is given...don't substitute and be ready for a chocolate overload!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Lilleskov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This cake is VERY rich! I would highly recommend serving it with vanilla ice cream or whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I do not know what all of the good reviews are about here! We followed the recipe to a t and is is a heavy brownie like cake...frosting is VERY thin and cake is HEAVY! Save your money and make something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
as a choclate lover, i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
So I completely messed the directions up - I didn't whip the eggs up at all and it was too late to repair anything. However I just went with it and it turned out wonderful. I figured it would be a complicated and unforgiving recipe but even with my huge error it was good. Almost too rich but wonderful for chocolate lovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We LOVE this cake. We double or triple the raspberry filling. We also add another ounce of chocolate into the frosting. For the frosting we mix it with the electric mixer to make it a thicker frosting. Don't over cook or else it becomes dry. This is our go to cake when we need something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States