Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Delicious! My mother asked for this for her birthday. She absolutely loved it. It even pleased my boyfriends step mother, whom is a very picky eater. She couldn't stop picking at it. I followed the directions for the most part. I used more raspberries and I also put the raspberry mix and a little cornstarch on the stove to get a nice thick gel as some other reviewers recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this cake as is but exchanged the frosting for a buttercream frosting instead. My husband says that I should have just used the called for frosting because it was just too much with what I made. I was following another reviewer's suggestion. With how I did it, I just wasn't impressed with it. It was alright, but nothing fantastic. Instead of using jam, I reserved the raspberry juice from when it was thawed and added some corn starch and heated it up. The raspberries really made a nice contrast. People just complained that it was too chocolatey. I have to agree. Even just eating the cake (not the frosting) it is very chocolatey and rich. This cake MUST be eaten in very small pieces. I won't make this one again because there are so many recipes out there that are better. If you do make it, use the frosting that is given...don't substitute and be ready for a chocolate overload!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SistaMaggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This cake is VERY rich! I would highly recommend serving it with vanilla ice cream or whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I do not know what all of the good reviews are about here! We followed the recipe to a t and is is a heavy brownie like cake...frosting is VERY thin and cake is HEAVY! Save your money and make something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
as a choclate lover, i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
So I completely messed the directions up - I didn't whip the eggs up at all and it was too late to repair anything. However I just went with it and it turned out wonderful. I figured it would be a complicated and unforgiving recipe but even with my huge error it was good. Almost too rich but wonderful for chocolate lovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
We LOVE this cake. We double or triple the raspberry filling. We also add another ounce of chocolate into the frosting. For the frosting we mix it with the electric mixer to make it a thicker frosting. Don't over cook or else it becomes dry. This is our go to cake when we need something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
There is no need for icing on this cake or filler. I made 1 9" pan and served with fresh raspberries. It was the best chocolate cake I've ever had.... no need to gild the lily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was fabulous! I followed the suggestions of other commenters and made more filling than the recipe calls for. I used 1/4 cup jam, 6 oz frozen raspberries, and a few tablespoons powdered sugar. It turned out beautifully; thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Fantastic recipe. The raspberries add a nice contrast of flavour that just makes this cake perfect. The first time I made this cake everyone who tried said it was the best cake they had ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States