Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
A really great, rich chocolate cake! I made it without the raspberries as a one-layer 9x13 cake, and it was excellent this way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
So rich and fudgey! I love this ganache, too--I use it for frosting a lot of other cakes, sometimes I whip it, sometimes I just pour it on. Take the time to use a quality chocolate like Guittard or Ghiradelli and you'll really be nicely rewarded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I normally follow the recipe exactly the first time through but this time I was having company and I wanted it to be beautiful. I not only doubled the raspberry filling, but I cooked the berries on top of the stove with sugar, cornstarch and a raspberry liqeuer. This way the cake presented well and didn't get soggy with berry juice. Good cake Roz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vegigrl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Excelent cake. Went over very well with everyone at work. My only suggestion would be to add more raspberries for the filling. I followed the filling recipe exactly and didn't end up with a lot of raspberry flavor. Next time I am adding more frozen raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was so dry! I was so dissapointed. Granted, I do not bake cakes often, but I tried this one for a special occasion and we ate 2 slices and I decided the rest wasnt worth the calories and threw it out! I followed the recipe exactly, I just thought it was very dry and not that tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
FANTASTIC! Yummy moist simply HEAVEN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Ohmigosh! Served this for Valentine's Day to my sweetie, and he fell even deeper in love with me! It was beautiful! I used fresh raspberries for the filling, and added a more preserves. I used fresh raspberries on the edge of the cake and it was a knockout! Had enough for 5 guests two nights later. I made some whipped cream to top it off and it was even BETTER! It was WORTH the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Cake is excellent and worth the effort to make. Very rich and chocolatey. I increased amount of raspberry filling - thought it should have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This is the best Chocolate Cake I have ever made! It is more like a torte' than a cake. I made it a year ago this Christmas for a friends party and from now on it will be a tradition for me to make it every year or on very special occasions. I loved it and I also received rave reviews from the guests at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
As one other reviewer wrote, this cake wasn't very "pretty". But it was definitely one of the best cakes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States