DeeAnn's Cheesy Bacon Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
DELICIOUS!! My new, favorite way to have cabbage. Thanks so much DeeAnn! Like Sully, I sauteed onions in a little oil after the bacon. Added ~ 1 TBSP H2O & covered x ~ 5 min to steam the cabbage along. Then I added some butter, & the salt & pepper. All I had was Parmesean & Asiago cheese(s) @ home, so I topped w/ a mixture of those. Then, turned off the heat, covered the pan & let the cheeses melt. This is so very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is a great and easy recipe! Slicing the cabbage like a loaf of bread, drizzling a little oil on both sides with salt and pepper and throw it on the BBQ about 5-6 minutes per side. Gives this a little healthy help and a nice smokey flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe was great.I'm thinking about adding onions to it as i am a onion lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I have made this 3 times now-they want it once a week. I used pkgd. bacon pieces and a little oil to cook the cabbage. Added onion, garlic and sprinkled just a handful of cheese on top. Really good flavors and a must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
didn't use cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I seriously had my doubts about this recipe, but I had some cabbage I needed to use before it went bad. WOW! This was easy and tasty. I added some onion as suggested by others and used turkey bacon. I did add some water to the cabbage as the turkey bacon doesn't produce as much grease. This recipe is fantastic and I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Made this for a side last night... it was pretty good! I found it a tad greasy, but cabbage and bacon made such a lovely match! I'll make again, cabbage is suprisingly one veg my kids will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I made this to accompany a roasted leg of lamb, and the combination was fantastic! I followed the recipe and only added some freshly chopped garlic and a bit of olive oil. Thank you for a great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I have made a similar version but never thought to add cheese. I like to add some onion and garlic to mine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
My family loved this! I omitted the cheese and my son said it needs a little more spices (he likes hot food,so I added crushed red pepper). My husband says i need to make this at least once a month. Truly a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States