DeeAnn's Cheesy Bacon Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Very good. My whole family actually ate cabbage this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was great! We all enjoyed (including kids). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
DeeAnn, you're right. Anyone who has a problem with cabbage should try this. My Jamaican bro-in-law showed me this 30 years ago, but minus the bacon & cheese. For vegetarians, steam the (onion) & cabbage until slightly wilted. Add butter (or olive oil for vegans) to fry it up a bit. Salt & pepper to taste. I was going to try it with the cheese but at the last minute just couldn't do it. I love cheese but have more than enough recipes with it that I didn't want to mask the wonderful crunchy vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Delicious! Instead of frying the bacon I baked in 350 degree oven for about 15min. I fried the cabbage in a little butter until it started to brown around the edges. Great way to eat cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I always cook my cabbage dish using bacon and onions...but I must say this recipe is far better. The cheese takes it over the top. One word for this recipe: EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanie60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Awesome! I don't really care for cooked cabbage...this was excellent though. I did saute a small yellow onion in the bacon grease before adding the cabbage, and I shredded a carrot in the mix for added color and nutrition. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Really good comfort-style dish. Sautee onions and garlic before adding garlic to enhance flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this last night after buying fresh cabbage at the local farmer's market. The only thing I did different was to sautee onions and garlic before adding the cabbage to the pan. I think this may have been bland if I hadn't done that. Some reviewers said this didn't need the cheese so I tried it with and without and I personally prefered it with the cheese. The cheese added another layer of flavor. Thanks for sharing. We really enjoyed your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
My husband absolutely loves this recipe. He eats the entire pan by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I tasted this and thought it was a nice dish. It didn't wow me and I wasn't able to eat too much of it either (because of the richness). I will likely have again sometime, but not for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

VELVEETA Cheesy Bacon Brunch Casserole

This savory breakfast casserole is super quick and easy.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States