Decorator Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used this recipe to frost my cutouts at Christmas and was very pleased with the results. I definitely prefer a recipe with butter instead of shortening. Makes a lot of frosting which was good because I made many colors and had a lot of cookies with the Shortbread recipe that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great frosting. Snow day today, and the kids were off of school, so they made cupcakes. We added a little extra milk so that we could pipe it onto cupcakes using a 2D tip. Worked great and tasted fabulous. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Frosting is sweet, but not sickening so like many others. Works great for decorating cut out cookies. I use with Dora's Christmas Cookies, which with almond extract provide a savory counterpoint to the frosting. (Don't worry. It's still plenty sweet!) I suggest doubling the Decorator Frosting to use with one batch of Dora's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I used this recipe (I used mostly margarine and a little butter because that's what was on hand, plus I added 1 t almond extract) to decorate cookies tonight. It not only tastes delicious, but it works well for decorating and sets up nicely for putting the cookies in tins. This is my new go-to icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
worked perfectly for sugar cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I only needed a little bit of frosting for the gingerbread cookies we made for santa this year. This is a great recipe. I only used one stick of butter, eye-balled the milk and vanilla and probably only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Didn't use the food coloring. But this recipe definitely helps to figure out the ratio of butter to sugar. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made the recipes exactly as stated except I added some lemon extract for xmas cookies and it was awesome. I liked how quickly they dried and stayed moist inside. I took my time creaming the sugar and butter and slowly adding milk to get the consistancy I needed which needed to be even smoother, but oh well, they were still awesome. This will be my go-to for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I liked this recipe. I am baking Christmas cookies and decorated sugar cookies with this. The only problem I had was that my house was very warm because of all the baking and it took a long time for the frosting to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe makes a delicious frosting that we used for Christmas cookies. Needed to add more milk though, as it was pretty dry, as others noted. We used almond extract instead of vanilla: delish. I can't see how the vanilla extract would be "optional," as noted in the recipe. Wondering if P.Oakes meant to write that the red food coloring was optional, instead of the extract?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
great recipe! I made a half batch for a few cookies. It set up pretty quickly and has a good sweet nice, but not too overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States