Decorator Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was very easy to make and work with. I did only make half the recipe and still ended up with way more than I needed. I colored it purple and added almond extract to ice my shortbread cookies. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Just the recipe I was looking for! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
DELICIOUS!!! I added some pumpkin spice to the sugar before adding the butter. It gave a nice flavor (to my liking) and made it a light bronze color. I did not add any food coloring because I liked the color from the spice. Happy Halloween!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
A bit too sweet for my taste. Kids would love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paladine53

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Initially, I wondered about the amount of butter, but this whipped up nicely and was an excellent compliment to the cut out sugar cookies I frosted. Like others stated, it dries nicely so you can stack cookies but yet they are still soft when eaten. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. Delicious and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I was looking for a recipe for frosting. I have always winged it, using the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla and sometimes butter.I made this to decorate our Halloween cookies and my daughters loved it.They liked other recipes,but hey said to make sure I keep this recipe because this is THE BEST.I will definitley be making agian and again. In fact, I am making it this afternoon. One of these times, I would like to try it with some of the flavored coffee creamers for a different taste. Thank you for a great frosting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I used this on "Soft Sugar Cookies IV" and it came out beautifully! Very easy to make and really tasty, not overly sweet as so many other frostings out there. I cut the recipe down to 1/4 and had plenty to frost 35 cookies. I also added some lemon extract since my cookies were lemon flavored as well. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NataliaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wittlich, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
We added a lime and a half of juice to this, and it turned out delicious! It was really hard to wait for the cake to finish baking so we could use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
The first frosting that has ever turned out edible! Easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKGEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Came out awesome. I used it with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies Recipie. No white streaks in frosting as someone else stated. I used regular food color and made orange and purple, beautiful. I added a wee bit more milk. Not grainy at all and dries hard for stacking. Of course it's sweet, it's supposed to be it's frosting. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States