Decorator Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This frosting was alright, however, it is not great for decorating. I added cinnamon and used it on banana cupcakes, which was very good. When I tried to make roses with it, it got too runny. If you are looking for a good decorating icing- use something with shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was GREAT! I actually forgot the vanilla extract, and it was fine. So buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
One of the best tasting frostings on this website! I've tried other recipes and this one has turned out the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Perfect for decorating the Blue Ribbon Sugar cookies that I used for my daughter's 5th birthday cookie decorating party:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
You can't beat this old school frosting recipe! Don't use margarine...use REAL butter. Be sure to beat it for the alotted time. Delish! I use a few drops of white food coloring if I want the frosting to be more white because the butter yellows the frosting a bit. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I would use this again but I'm still looking for something more! Buttery but not sugary enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Linde
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Yum, not too sweet, perfect. I have to agree with some others it came out a little too thick for me however I loved that because I could make it the consistency I wanted by adding some milk. If i was going to make cookie sandwhichs the consistency it came out as would have been perfect. I was using this to frost the soft gingerbread cookies from this site and mmm it was yummy. Another thing I would have to agree with was that the color did seem streaky but that didnt bug me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoSensGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is a nicely flavored, crusting confectioners sugar frosting. It was a bit too thick for my thin cookies, so I added a dash more milk. But that's the beauty of this type of frosting: it's easy to adjust the consistency with more milk or more sugar to suit your needs for every occasion. The butter gives a good flavor (better than shortening) and I also added some orange extract. After it sits on the cookies for a while, it has a nice crust so you can stack them. However, under the crust is still soft frosting. My family and I loved it! We'll definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Farrer Stelma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This is a tasty recipe for frosting! I added a hint of lemon flavoring and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Kent
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This frosting turned out perfect! Made a HUGE batch! Way more than I needed. But was very simple to make, and tastes good on the sugar cookies I made! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horicon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States