Decorator Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
3 stars says it all. It was just okay. It was better before I put in the vanilla extract. 1 teaspoon is too much; I would suggest starting with 1/2 a teaspoon and adding more if you think it's needed. I don't TOTALLY hate it, but I would be very surprise if I ever made this particular frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia Brinkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is my first time making homemade icing. This recipe was easy and tasted great. It seemed a little more runny than the store bought icing, but I just chilled it in the refrigerator for a few minutes to firm it up before decorating cookies. I made about 40 cookies and had more than enough icing left over. The only drawback is that it's way too sweet. I like it, but my husband and kids usually can't eat a whole cupcake b/c it's too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was the perfect frosting for the sugar cookies I just made. Will be the go to frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Needed a little more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Worked perfectly to decorate my "ninjabread men". It was just right to pipe small details and dried nicely as well. It was also easy to spread and would work well to frost larger cookies too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I love this recipe because it doesn't use shortening, yet, when set in the fridge, sets up nicely. Yes, the recipe is sweet, but it IS frosting, so I'm not sure what flavor reviewers were expecting! 5 stars from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniwithani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good frosting. Not too sweet and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I generally HATE icing but this recipe is AMAZING. Defiantly a keeper. I didn't even need to add vanilla or food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
If you are looking for a buttery, foolproof frosting, this is it! I made this recipe x4 for a church event. I made it the night before. While it tastes delicious (that much butter always tastes good!) it wasn't ideal for gingerbread stables. It became way to thick and I had to add a lot of additional milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Really great. It was on cake and I thought it was great but I think it would be best on cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piggyluver~!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States