Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I love this frosting!! I didn't have any almond extract so I used vanilla. I only made 1/2 of this frosting b/c I only needed it for the middle of my Patriotic poke cake. I didn't have quite enough frosting so I added a little cream cheese to extend it.It was DELISH!! Next time I will try it with the almond extract(I can't wait!)Thank You very much for a yummy and versatile frosting, Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Tashawna
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This is the perfect frosting for decorating!! I'm not crazy about almond, so I used clear butter and vanilla extracts to keep the frosting white, and give it a buttercream taste. My husband, who hates frosting, even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashawna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I bake all the time, and make frosting all the time. Even though this is really white, and will never go bad in the fridge, that's about all it's good points. The taste of this frosting is awful, and I loathe the thought of feeding pure shortening and sugar to anyone!! I make buttercream reguarly and achieve a very white frosting by using land o lakes butter, and whipping it a tiny bit. It's pipeable, tasty and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I'm a very serious, though non-professional, cake decorator. I bake and decorate a cake every two weeks, and even made my own wedding cake. First, I have to say, this icing DOES have its place: It's very easy to make, cheap, and kept in an airtight container in the refrigerator, it says good almost forever. I use this for practice all the time, but I *never* eat it. The taste is vile. It's greasy, and most people, myself included, find it way too sugary. There is no reason to serve this to people given there are actually tasty icing recipes out there that are still appropriate to decorate with. If you are coloring the frosting, a traditional buttercream is wonderful. If you must have pure white: marshmallow fondant is good for icing an entire cake, and boiled icing is great for writing and string work. If you need white flowers, gum paste can do the trick. If you absolutely must have *pure white piped flowers* and there is no way around it, I'd check gourmet stores or online to find some goat milk butter, which is pure white if it isn't dyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a pretty, pure white frosting and very easy to work with. Thin it for a crumb coat, leave as is for piping, and thin, if you prefer, to frost. The texture is great as well - creamy and fluffy. But it was prettier to look at than it was to eat. I believe it is a combination of factors that made this not as good for flavor -the fact that it was all shortening made the taste flat. Maybe a pinch of salt would have helped that. The almond flavoring, while it keeps the frosting white, is harsh. I miss the buttery, vanilla flavor of other frosting recipes I've tried which are far better. This was one occasion where I pushed most of the frosting off to the side of my plate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by tiffscookin
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is exactly what I was looking for. I used it for my daughters 4th birthday cake. Having no experience at cake decorating, I found this frosting very user friendly and the cake turned out beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is the Wilton buttercreme frosting recipe and will work everytime. I also add a 'pinch' of salt to cut down on the sweetness. I use 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortning (without Transfat!). The transfat will break down the frosting. A note on this: this is a crusting frosting which means it will somewhat harden after sitting, which is perfect for decorators as it smooths out and stays. Other flavors can be added in place of the almond for complimenting the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
A good "old faithful" recipe. If you are leaving the cake on the counter, I used water instead of milk. 1/2 butter, 1/2 crisco works best, with a high quality butter, it takes away the crisco taste. The best way to thin it for flat icing is white corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This frosting was so much easier than any decorator frosting I have used and it turned out perfect! I didn't change a thing in it as I used it with star and writing tips as well as basic cake-covering. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is the best frosting I have ever made so far. It is really good. And it holds its shape very well when decorating. It is just right to frost cakes and cupcakes. Everyone whom I have made a cake for tells me that love it and want me to make then more cakes. Well I hope if you stumble upon this recipe you will try it yourself. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States