Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I used this frosting to practice some cake decorating techninque. I would probably give it 5 stars for the purpose - decorating...but maybe 3 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Loved this recipe. Super simple! I really appreciated the advice to "separate decorating part then thin the overall cover" advice. will use from now on... I just used a cup of butter instead of shortening, I think it tastes better than with shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Wow, this recipe was incredible. I will continue to use this. The only thing I did differently was I used butter flavored shortening instead of regular shortening. The came together well and as quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
My husband, who isn't a sweets person, said this was the best icing ever. HOWEVER, I followed everyone's advice and used 1/2c butter and 1/2c shortening, hence the 4-star review. I also used coconut milk instead of regular milk. The almond taste was great and my hubby took some to work, which disappeared in 20 minutes...and his office is all men. So, I say if MEN eat these things, then they're GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Wonderful frosting. I substited water for the milk and substitued 1/4 part butter for the shortening just to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I vary the recipe a bit, but as a cake decorator this is my go-to frosting recipe. I substitute water for the milk and vanilla extract for the almond extract. The vanilla extract is just a taste preference, and I sub the water for milk because with decorated/celebration cakes they are often left at room temp. to be displayed so I would rather just worry about there being even a little bit of dairy, which should be refrigerated. I first cream together my shortening and liquid ingredients until well combined and smooth before adding the confectioners sugar, which I add gradually - one cup at a time. Once I have all the confectioners sugar added I check the consistency and add more water if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was the best frosting I've had. I'm never buying the stuff from the store again. I used butter instead of shortning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I needed a decorator frosting to edge a cake I was making and this recipe fit the bill. It was excellent in flavor & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong, I used butter flavored shortening and the taste was overwhelming so I added more sugar and milk, which changes the recipe completely, maybe I would try again, I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This frosting is rich & almondy. By using a little less milk than called for, I was able to get a thicker frosting that held up really well for making flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States