Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
A very greasy taste...no one in the house liked it...used it on my son's first birthday cake and he wouldn't even eat it...my advice find another recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wow! Great decorator frosting. The only change that I made was 1/2 tea almond and 1 tea butter flavor. I didn't realize that my almond bottle was almost empty and I wanted to keep the frosting white, I did and the taste is wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
LOVE this frosting!! Very simple to make and my family LOVED it. I have tried bunches of frosting recipes and this is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was WAY too much Shortening, made for a very greasy icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Hutchens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cornelia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, with the following additions: 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp butter extract. The extract didn't change the color; it was still pure white. Personally I liked the almond flavoring -- but I *really* love almond extract. I found this to be of an excellent texture, and like all shortening-based frostings, of superior consistency for piping. This did not make quite enough for 24 heavily piped cupcakes, but did make enough to pipe 27 adequately. (Using skim milk and covering 27 equally, this recipe has 138 calories per serving.) If spreading, you could probably get 36-40 out of it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I love this frosting. It always turns out and is never runny and no having to buy expensive whipping cream that goes old in the fridge. Doesn't taste too sugary sweet and plenty fluffy, yet it holds it's shape. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This frosting was very good for decorating, but be sure to use white shortening, otherwise it will turn out yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keeskupcakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
People need to read the recipe title before rating. This is a DECORATOR Frosting and not necessarily one to grade as flavor. We use this consistently to decorate and as a crumb coat. I use a buttercream to frost the cake and fill between the layers. Thus, I use two different kinds of frosting for my fancy cakes and cupcakes. I have used this recipe for years. It is exactly as the title stated - Decorator Icing and fabulous at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woollysheep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
So yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
i have been looking for a recipe for a frosting like this for ages. i make alot of cupcakes n wanted 1 that would stay firm n keep good shape so when i found this i thought my luck was in. i tryed it but used half butter half crisco. it piped perfect n looked gr8 but god the taste made me feel sick. so really this frosting is for looks n not for taste .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States