Decorator Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
3 stars for taste, 5 for piping so we'll average it out to 4. This stuff really pipes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This had to much Almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
By far the best frosting! Perfect for decorating & frosting vanilla cake. I cut the almond flavor to suit my taste, but otherwise - it's perfect in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I give this only for stars because it calls for shortening. I don't eat or use hydrogenated oils so I replaced it with butter. I believe this got rid of the blandness others wrote about. It was good with vanilla and with almond flavoring. As it is called "decorator frosting" that is what I made it for. Less milk and it is nice and stiff. The amount it calls for made the perfect spreading consistancy. With butter the taste and consistancy were perfect. I will use this time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovinlife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Most decorator frostings have too much of a sugary taste to it and this one tastes great! I made it substituting the almond extract for vanilla extract and it was very tasty and was great for piping designs on cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Worked perfect for decorating my cookies! I had to thin it with a little more milk in total I think I used about 2 tsp. more. Thanks for a solid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I made this for my daughters birthday cupcake cake and everyone loved the almond flavor. It was a big hit. The frosting travels well even in heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is real close to the recipe I learned for decorating cakes except I use a full 2 lb bag confectioner's sugar to the 1 c shortening. Instead of milk I use 1/2 c water and 1 tsp of flavoring rather its vanilla, almond, butter etc. You can use more water to thin down for frosting the cake but it pipes and sets like a charm. People come to me for the "budget cakes" this is what i use. I also add up to 1/2 tsp salt this will take out the overly sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
A very greasy taste...no one in the house liked it...used it on my son's first birthday cake and he wouldn't even eat it...my advice find another recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Wow! Great decorator frosting. The only change that I made was 1/2 tea almond and 1 tea butter flavor. I didn't realize that my almond bottle was almost empty and I wanted to keep the frosting white, I did and the taste is wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States