Deconstructed Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I strayed ever so slightly but I think my changes were on target w/ the goal of the recipe. While the recipe initially called for some white bread to be pulsed in a food processor I figured there was no need to use white bread, and I substituted a mixture of panko bread crumbs and Italian seasoned bread crumbs using a 2:1 ratio. This caused it to develop a crusty buttery effect - it was delicious! I also elected to use spinach instead of the arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is such a nice dish! Fresh ingredients, colorful, beautiful presentation, representative of all the nutritious food groups, and delicious. Your finished dish can only be as good as the quality of the ingredients you use and this recipe’s ingredients guarantee success. I did not butterfly the chicken breasts, used a good quality Italian bread and, because I had it on hand, fresh baby spinach (didn’t cook it) instead of arugula. I couldn’t pay Hubs to eat feta so I didn’t use it, but I think it’s a better dish without it anyway. Huge culinary pay-off for little effort. Bonus: very little clean up, especially if you line your pan (I used a cookie sheet) with foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
The first thing out of my husband's mouth was, "This is my favorite chicken recipe you've ever cooked." That's saying a lot after 24 years of cooking for him. This was much easier than trying to stuff a chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
VERY delicious! I used idaho potaotes b/c that's what I had on hand, nd I roasted them w/ evoo, salt, pepper, a little garlic powder and whole cloves of garlic (LOVE roasted garlic w/ potaotes). I think I used like 7 slices of bread, but I had more chicken than called for. I thought this would stick riht to the chicken, but you actually have to press it on. Once baked, it's beautifully golden brown and buttery delicious! I also added a little of the juice from the zested lemon to the feta 'salsa' b/c I felt that it needed it. This was our first time trying arugula, and personally we weren't fans (don't know if it was the brand I bought or what), but I'll give it a try again sometime. Other than that, I will def be making this dish again...It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by kellybeth
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Loved this recipe! Restaruant quality for sure. I followed the recipe excactly except that I pounded the chicken breast to an even thickness and it took about 10 additional minutes to cook. Everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The family loved it! I used homemade bread for the breadcrumbs, so it probably turned out a little softer than store bought. The potatoes were perfectly cooked, and the presentation is gorgeous with the array of colors. The cooking times on everything worked fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
We were surprised how much we liked it. I loved the coolness of the tomato and feta salsa with the warm flavorful chicken. The roasted potatoes seemed like an odd side dish for this but it was a yummy dinner! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
We really didn't like this as much as I thought we would, considering all the favorable reviews. Most definitely will NOT make again. Very disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Very delicious, easy, and just a beautiful dish to look at! The chicken came out juicy and the salsa on top just made it perfect! I used baby spinach leaves in place of the arugula. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this with a few modifications. I used 1/2 cup of panko for the white bread, and added the garlic, parsley and butter, cutting the butter to just 2 T. I dipped the chicken into beaten egg hoping it would make the crumb mixture adhere a little better, and I think it did. I only coated the top side of the chicken to avoid any sogginess, and sprinkled the remaining crumbs over the top. I used baby redskin potatoes, and instead of arugula, I made sautéed spinach. I just eyeballed the ingredients for the salsa, using a lot less lemon zest and oil than called for. I baked this as directed and the timing was perfect for both the potatoes and chicken. This was very good and a great way to use some cherry tomatoes from Hubs’ garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Baked Split Chicken Breast

See how to make easy, juicy baked chicken with a delicious, crispy skin.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States