Deconstructed Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
We were surprised how much we liked it. I loved the coolness of the tomato and feta salsa with the warm flavorful chicken. The roasted potatoes seemed like an odd side dish for this but it was a yummy dinner! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
VERY delicious! I used idaho potaotes b/c that's what I had on hand, nd I roasted them w/ evoo, salt, pepper, a little garlic powder and whole cloves of garlic (LOVE roasted garlic w/ potaotes). I think I used like 7 slices of bread, but I had more chicken than called for. I thought this would stick riht to the chicken, but you actually have to press it on. Once baked, it's beautifully golden brown and buttery delicious! I also added a little of the juice from the zested lemon to the feta 'salsa' b/c I felt that it needed it. This was our first time trying arugula, and personally we weren't fans (don't know if it was the brand I bought or what), but I'll give it a try again sometime. Other than that, I will def be making this dish again...It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I strayed ever so slightly but I think my changes were on target w/ the goal of the recipe. While the recipe initially called for some white bread to be pulsed in a food processor I figured there was no need to use white bread, and I substituted a mixture of panko bread crumbs and Italian seasoned bread crumbs using a 2:1 ratio. This caused it to develop a crusty buttery effect - it was delicious! I also elected to use spinach instead of the arugula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious and so very easy to look at. I'd definitely serve this dish to anyone. It tastes wonderful and looks very elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The family loved it! I used homemade bread for the breadcrumbs, so it probably turned out a little softer than store bought. The potatoes were perfectly cooked, and the presentation is gorgeous with the array of colors. The cooking times on everything worked fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Wonderful. Very tasty. Substituted sweet potatoes and pre-packaged bread crumbs and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
The first thing out of my husband's mouth was, "This is my favorite chicken recipe you've ever cooked." That's saying a lot after 24 years of cooking for him. This was much easier than trying to stuff a chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this with a few modifications. I used 1/2 cup of panko for the white bread, and added the garlic, parsley and butter, cutting the butter to just 2 T. I dipped the chicken into beaten egg hoping it would make the crumb mixture adhere a little better, and I think it did. I only coated the top side of the chicken to avoid any sogginess, and sprinkled the remaining crumbs over the top. I used baby redskin potatoes, and instead of arugula, I made sautéed spinach. I just eyeballed the ingredients for the salsa, using a lot less lemon zest and oil than called for. I baked this as directed and the timing was perfect for both the potatoes and chicken. This was very good and a great way to use some cherry tomatoes from Hubs’ garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I loved this recipe. It was simple, yet so tasty. It would be a good dish to serve to guests as it looks so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ogdarrah
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was awesome. By far the best chicken recipe I've ever made. I really enjoyed this more than having all of the butter and parsley welled up in the middle. Much more evenly distributed. Excellent topping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States