Decadent Turtle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made this pie for a 4th of July family reunion of 35 people. Instead of making the crust I got a ready made Oreo pie crust but followed the rest of the directions just like they are shown & it turned out great. I also made a second one & added butterscotch pudding to the cream cheese & sweetened condensed milk mixture that came out well also,The pudding made it very thick but once everything else was on it & chilled for 3 hours .....well both of them within 30 mins. of putting them on the table, were gone & I have requests for more.I wonder if the people that said it wouldn't set, use evaporated milk instead of the sweetened condensed milk? I know that I almost made that mistake. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I did an experiment after reading so many "filling not setting" comments: I put it in the refridge for a couple of hours BEFORE pouring into the crust. Surprize! Mine was set so that it was the same thickness as the cream pie filling you buy at a store! I was so creamy and sweet! I actually folded some melted cholocate in the half of the filling, and it was delicious! You just need to make sure you are using a can of SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK, not evaporated milk. I agree with the previous reviewer - I think the people with "filling not setting" made a mistake using evaporated milk. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I made this pie for a bar-b-que and it was just wonderful. I think those who had trouble with the filling not setting might have made one or more of these mistakes: 1 - Use only Sweetened Condensed Milk made with WHOLE MILK ONLY 2 - Only ORIGINAL cream cheese will work, don't try to save calories or fat content here! 3 - The SOFTENED cream cheese (remove from refrigerator AT LEAST 3 HOURS BEFORE USING IT) and the Sweetened Condensed Milk MUST BE WHIPPED with an ELECTRIC MIXER on HIGH for the FULL 8 MINUTES required in the recipe. This is one of those unforgiving recipes. You will be punished if you don't follow the directions EXACTLY AS THEY ARE WRITTEN! Please try it again if you had a bad experience the first time. This is just DECADENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Pie is exactly as it should be and the filling does set if you follow recipe. I had this at a restaurant in FL and came here to find a recipe like the pie I had! Fantastic!!! Thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lake Martin, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
There must be an ingredient missing in this recipe. It never did set up. Great flavor but had to serve it in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I thought this pie turned out really well!! I made it the day before it was supposed to be served and it was fine. I got many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Try adding 1/2 cup - 1 cup of vanilla icecream to the mixture. This should harden it up if you then put it in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I added a little rum extract to the filling and a small package 3 oz of instant vanilla pudding to the filling. Also the cream cheese was room temp and the Sweetened Cond Milk was cold. I mixed in the pudding mix and rum extract to the cond milk and whipped it really well before I added in the cream cheese - and then whipped it for 8 minutes. Mine set up really well. The filling tasted like the king Edwards pie. I also used the carmel and choc magic shell to drizzle over the top of the pie and then topped it with whipped cream and sprinkle toasted pecans and more of the toppings then chilled it over night. It was great. It seems like the rum extract took some of the sweetness away from the filling. Don't use fat free products or it will not set up . Use the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
Make sure the sweetened condensed milk is made with whole milk. The reicpe does NOT work with lowfat or nonfat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I made this pie, refrigerated it for 7 hours, and it still didn't get firm. I had to serve it like mushy ice cream, and it was very embarressing for me. I think an ingrediant must be missing. It was almost too sweet too. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States